The shopping spree

I think I was a bad wife this past weekend. Not submissive at all... although I think I'm confused as to what submission is. But anyways... I digress.

I have been saving money since June. A little there, a bit here. Every time there is a little extra, I put it in savings. But... this was not intended for long-term savings. This was for the times that I HAVE TO SHOP. Ladies, you know what I'm talking about. It's a craving like nothing else. I mean, the desire is so strong, you would skip class or call in sick to work just so you can spend an extra hour at the mall. You know what I mean? Yeah.

So, I have these... "cravings"... every now and then. Like, every six months or so.

Last year, when I was in Cleveland, I had one, and I had NO MONEY. It was the worst thing EVER!

So... this summer... when we had a little extra money... I saved every smidgen I could for such a time as this.

Well... TJMAXX Homegood's opened last week. Heck yeah! I knew it was time to break into those savings.

Well, earlier last week, Brandon and I had a conversation about how there is no "your money" and "my money." Rather, it's "our money." So we decided any excess moooolah that came in, we would split. No matter who works more hours. No matter who makes more. That's how we're going to work it.

So, Friday night (after having already scoped out the new TJMAXX)I told Brandon about the money I had been saving. I said, "I've been saving it since June, and I was thinking that we could split it and spend it however we want."

He said something about how we need it for cushion, and what if there is an emergency, and all that good husbandly stuff that he should say because he's taking care of our family. But, until Friday night, he didn't even know this money existed! So... here comes the bad part...

Him - "We are not going to spend it."

Me - "I am going shopping with mine tomorrow."

Him - "No you are not."

Me - "Yes, I am."

Him - "No, you're not."

Me - "I'm not really asking. I'm going shopping in the morning."

Him - "Well, I'm not really asking either."

Me - "Okay."

Now... that okay, to me, meant "Okay, I realize you are not asking. But I'm not backing down. I don't want to ruin our date night; so I am going to drop it now. Okay. We will have to agree to disagree."

So I went shopping.

Spent $120.00.

$120.00!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

One-hundred, twenty-dollars, and change!!!!!!

Do you realize how much money that is to us???

And I spent it on cushions/pillow shams for our bed, and a storage thingy that goes over the back of the toilet.

Not food... not bills... home decorating.

And here's the really bad part...

IT MAKES ME REALLY HAPPY!!!!

And the awful, awful, awful part...

I DON'T EVEN FEEL GUILTY!!!!

See... doesn't that make me a terrible wife. Direct disobedience, rebellion, bad stewardship of money... and I'M LOVIN' EVERY MINUTE!!

Seriously, though. We needed the storage in the bathroom. And the new cushions inspired me to clean the rest of the house. Plus, Grandpa came over last night for coffee and apple pie. And it was SO NICE to be able to show off EVERY part of my house, not just the living room.

So, anyways... that's it. That's why I was a bad wife this weekend.

Oh... and how did it end? Brandon was upset. Yeah. He got upset like three times. Once was when he saw the thing over the toilet. He said it cost too much. Second, on the way to the movies when he found out I had spent some of the money. Third, when we got back from the movies and he saw the cushions on the bed. I heard him hit the wall from outside. Hm.

But when he woke up the next morning, he was fine. And I said to him that day, "I have been very responsible with the money over the past several months. No over-drawing the account, no late fees on bills" (at least none that were my fault... he didn't change the mailing address for his Discover card). I've been SO VERY GOOD. He should trust me on this stuff. We can afford it. And I needed it. A person would go crazy living as tight as we do for an extended period of time.

Anyways... I sure am defending myself a lot for someone who claims not to feel guilty about the thing.

I guess I need to pray about it. I don't know how God feels yet. Was it bad stewardship of finances? Was it being rebellious towards my husband? Or is it okay to go against his wishes sometimes?

I'm just not sure... I need to pray about it.

But... oh!... those pillows make me so happy.

Older // Latest