Kids! Candy! and Sleep!

Where to begin? So much has happened over the last couple days. I had quite a long update yesterday, but the computer crashed just as I was hitting "done!" *grrr* So... I suppose I will start over today. I may have to break it down into a couple entries.

Wednesday night, on the way to church. I was praying for the service that night, and something about the word "righteous" came up in the prayer (I can't remember if I brought it up or if God did). Regardless, I said, "I'm not very righteous. I have this sin and that problem, etc."

And the Lord rebuked me! He said, "Are you calling me a liar? Nothing unrighteous can be in my presence! Are you in my presence? Then if you were unrighteous, that would mean I am not holy! Don't call me a liar!"

Wow.

Church was interesting that night. We only had about 25 kids (as opposed to our normal 40-50). But, BJ's message was right on! He even talked about how nothing unrighteous can be in God's presence! hehe... just in case I didn't hear God clearly the first time, I suppose. =)

I am definitely seeing a change in some of the kids. It is so encouraging.

And yet, there are those that seem to not want to be changed. They act like they don't even want to be there. Then why do they come? I don't understand. It's not because their parents come. They walk up in a group from the trailer park behind our church. So why do some of them come if they obviously don't want to be there. One of them gets sent home just about every week anyways.

Hm.

I think I need to focus my prayers more on those kids in particular. I really want to understand their hearts. Why do they act the way they do? And what can I do, or rather, what can God do through me to change it?

So. That was Wednesday.

Then comes Thursday. This was quite an interesting day. I got up and went to morning classes. Nothing out of the ordinary.

I went home early because I was so very tired. I ate lunch and settled in for a movie and a nap. Just as I was getting warm and cozy, there was a knock on the door.

It was Trey. The little boy that lives next door to me. He loves playing with Pippin, my dog, and he wanted to know if Pip could come outside and play.

Well, they ended up playing in my house. I made popcorn and a glass of orange juice for an afternoon snack.

After about an hour, I told Trey that I needed to sleep, and he could come back on Monday and play because B would be here then, and he would pull out the video games.

So, once again, I lay down on the couch and tried to watch/sleep through a movie. Just as I'm once again dozing off, there is another pounding on my door.

"It's TREEEEEEYYYYYYYY! AND RAY RAAAAAAAAY!"

This time, when I opened the door, there were three of them. Hehe. They wanted candy (leftovers from Halloween) and Pippin.

"Whatever you do unto the least of these."

So, they all came in and had popcorn and orange juice and candy. Pippin loved it.

So, I let them stay for yet another hour. Finally, I was about dead on my feet. "Guys, it's time to go. You can come back Monday when B is here."

They left.

I had two more knocks on my door after that. I tried to ignore them, but they came to my open window and said, "HEEEEYYYY, IT'S RAY RAAAAAAAY! MY CUZIN'S HERE AND HE DON'T GOT NO CANDYYYYYYYYY!!!!!" I couldn't help but laugh.

"Okay, come get some candy. But don't knock on the door again today. You can come back Monday."

Trey also knocked to "see if you were finished sleeping."

Well, I guess I am now. =)

Hehe... all that to say, I really feel like the Lord is opening the door for me to minister to these kids. They really love coming in my house (especially when B is there) and playing with Pippin. They would be there every afternoon everyday if I didn't stop them.

"Whatever you do unto the least of these, you do unto Me." - Jesus.

So, finally, I turned the movie on (it was now dark outside) and fell asleep.

I woke up around 6:30pm and started to get ready to go to Jen's house. Okay... so... this is where I'm going to do a new entry because the next part is an entire entry to itself.

See you in a bit!

Older // Latest