Big changes...

And so the news came down...

February 22, 2006 at 8:02am.

"I interviewed a dynamite Christian lady yesterday. She's going to work back in commercial."

Silence.

Everybody in the meeting immediately, and not-so-subtly, might I say, turned to me.

I smiled and nodded.

He doesn't know about the interview I have lined up.

I had decided a long time ago that NOTHING he could say would be able to get my feathers ruffled.

So I smiled.

And nodded.

And smiled some more.

As if this is old news to me.

"She'll take your office."

I silently held my breath.

"And you'll move across the hall, next to JS."

What!?!?!

He's keeping me???

Eh???

Did I hear that right??

After the meeting, he followed me back to my office.

"Does it hurt your feelings that I'm hiring someone else?"

Hurt my feelings? Don't flatter yourself.

"No, it doesn't hurt my feelings. It does worry me a bit because I don't know what your plans for me are. GB, I need to know if you're going to ask me to leave so I can start looking for another job."

"Well, let me crunch some numbers this weekend and I will let you know next week. I know that you love insurance, and I think you have a future in it. So I would like to keep you on part-time."

Then, I saw my opportunity...

"Well, if, financially speaking, you need me to cut back my hours, that's fine with me. I can just service accounts and file and do the stuff that nobody has time to do now. Then the full-time ladies can be in charge on new business and writing policies and stuff."

"That actually sounds good. I'll let you know next week."

Awkward silence.

"GB, I may have an interview this week."

"Go ahead and go. Just in case."

And that was it.

So I am more in limbo than ever, but at least the end is in sight.

By this time next week, I should know, one way or another.

My ideal circumstance? Work here with fewer hours.

I mean, lets face it, I'm not going to get paid as much as I make here... no matter where I go. Especially considering I want to work part time, take a 6-week maternity leave, and then deal with an infant at work.

So I may get another job...

For less pay...

And more hours...

And that may be what I have to do.

But if I could stay on here.

With good pay...

And fewer hours...

And benefits...

*wow*

But, again, I'm leaving it up to the Lord. If GB says he can't keep me, then I know God has something better for me.

I know.

I know.

And I actually have a peace, knowing that God is in charge.

You see, I'm not even sure I want to keep this job anymore. I mean, with the way GB has been acting these last couple months, I'm not sure the money would be worth it.

But God knows what the future holds. And He knows if it's worth it.

If it's not, He'll provide a way out and another place to go.

If it is, He'll provide a way for GB to keep me.

And that's the bottom line.

So I really have no decisions to make.

I will go on this interview, if it is offered.

And I will see where the next week leads.

And that's all I can do, and all I can say.

_______________________________

In other news - GIRL SCOUT COOKIES ARE HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

________________________________

Also... we saw the baby's heartbeat yesterday. B and I cried. We only saw one baby, but I'm excited all the same. One precious little baby, with a beating heart, that is so much a part of us.

*yay*

_____________________________________

My dog will not leave me alone.

I wonder if it's a pregnancy thing.

It's not that he's annoying or in-your-face like he was when he was younger.

It's more that he won't allow me to go out of sight when I'm in the house.

He stays about a foot behind me all the time, even following me into the bathroom.

If I lie down on the couch, he curls up at my feet, or in my lap.

If I go to bed, he crawls under my side of the bed and goes to sleep.

If I'm home by myself (without B) he barks at everything that moves outside.

I've never seen him like this before, and it's kind of sweet.

I just hope it doesn't turn into over-protective when the baby comes.

__________________________________

So I guess that's it for now. I suppose I should try to get some work done.

Blessings!

Older // Latest