Baby, House, Job, * OH MY*

So, taking a little study break.

Just started a couple hours ago. Fell asleep on the couch, and didn't wake up until 9pm.

*oops*

Oh well.

So, I'm sitting here, and for the last five minutes straight, Chloe has been kicking in the same place. I can feel it with my hand, and I would give ANYTHING for B to be here to feel it.

I think he gets jealous sometimes that I can feel her move and he can't. As a matter of fact, he falls asleep with his head on my belly "just in case she moves." So, I've just been waiting for this day to roll around, when I could actually feel her on the outside! But, alas, he is working out with a friend and basically trying to stay away from the house to prevent *distractions* during study time. *ahem*

Still, I wish he had been here during these last five minutes. Oh well, many more of those moments to come, I suppose. He will have plenty of chances to feel her move.

_________________________________

Closing date is approaching very quickly on our new duplex, and it all seems a bit surreal to me. I mean, this duplex has been so easy compared to the one we are living in now.

When we got this one (our current one), the entire month between the signing of the contract and the closing, was one of the most stressful months I've ever had. We were never quite sure that our loan would go through, even up until we were sitting at the closing table. We kept getting "suprise" costs... like how they charge twice as much for an inspection because it's a 2-family, and not a 1-family dwelling. So by the time closing rolled around, we were broke, tired, over-anxious, and just ready to move in. (We actually had to borrow some money from B's parents in order to have enough to close.)

But with the new one, everything just seems to have fallen into place.

I can't remember if I wrote about all this. If so, then allow me to refresh your memory:

The new duplex was under contract to close about six months ago. An appraisal was done, as was the inspection. As a result of the inspection, the seller regraded the yard (planting new grass, etc.) to prevent run-off, and put in new HVAC units in BOTH sides of the duplex. However, the buyer's financing fell through at the last minute, and they put the duplex back on the market.

Now, what does this have to do with us? you may ask. Well, because of that contract, we do not have to pay for an appraisal, an inspection, or bargain for any repairs. It's already been taken care of.

Also, there is already a really great tenant living on the other side. And at closing, they write us a check for her $505 deposit.

All in all, we are saving about $1300 because of all these things. (Keep that number in mind because it is quite important).

Now, do you remember the ONE thing that I REALLY didn't like about this duplex? The carpet. *ewwww* Stained and smelly with iron burns in it.

So we decided that WT, B's dad, would help us put new Pergo flooring down throughout the whole side of the duplex. And guess how much THAT is going to cost us?

About $1300.

Coindidence? I think not.

God is just moving everything right into place. *Thank Heaven!*

________________________________

I have a feeling that this next month is going to be one big blur.

Exams this week.
Memphis next week.
Closing on the duplex the following week.
Anniversary/Vacation the week after that.
Painting/Laying down floors the week after that.
And finally moving in after that.

*whew* That's six weeks of non-stop fun! What's a girl to do?

_____________________________________

Work has been interesting. My evaluation is coming up this month, and I am SO asking for a raise.

As of Monday of the week, I am the ONLY person in the office that can write EVERY line of business that a P&C license allows. Because JS has been out on her "emergency leave of absence" I have HAD to learn worker's compensation ON MY OWN in a VERY limited amount of time.

SOOO.. all that to say, I really hope GB sees things the way I do. I mean, it's not like I have that much real bargaining pull. In my "situation" (being preggo, that is) I cannot find a decent job that pays as much as mine with the same hours as mine.

But, hopefully, GB doesn't know that. =)

___________________________________

Well, I'm off to continue with my studies. Oh, the joy. I can hardly contain my excitement. (Do you sense the sarcasm there? I just thought I'd point it out, just in case you hadn't noticed it.)

Have a wonderful evening everybody!

Older // Latest