The House

So, I saw the house.

The house itself was B-E-A-UTIFUL! It was SO BIG, and the furnishing and decor were to DIE for!!!

The kitchen was really small, and there are a few repairs that need to be done. But over-all it was DELISH!

But some odd stuff happened to me while I was there... or I guess I should say a lack of some odd stuff...

I think I expected too much on the spiritual front.

I expected to walk through those doors and be overwhelmed by the confirmation of the Holy Spirit.

I expected the Lord to tell me to walk around the grounds seven times and claim my "promised land."

I expected signs and wonders.

And I got...

Nothing.

Absolutely nothing.

Even when B and I were praying beforehand, I couldn't think of anything to pray.

After all the prayers and petitions and faith-building montras I've poured out before that second... when the "moment of truth" came... I couldn't remember the word "favor." I ended up saying, "Lord, give us... ummm... uhhh... you know... that thing where people like you."

*gosh*

During the actual tour of the house, it was like we were looking at any other property we were looking to purchase. We were pointing out the things that we really liked... and the things that needed repairs. We were asking about the heating and air and working fire places. We wanted to know the history of the property and the reason the owner is selling... all the "normal" stuff you ask when you're about to purchase a property.

And when we left, we felt exactly the same as when we arrived - unsure.

This is something I struggled with all evening. Was the Lord saying no? Did he remove His hands from us when we walked in, as a sign that this was not the place? Is that why we didn't FEEL anything? What was the deal???

I couldn't sleep last night.

Then, finally, in the early hours this morning, I stopped asking questions and just listened.

"I want to give you what you want."

...said the Lord.

"I don't want to give you this property because it 'feels good' when you walk in. I want to give it to you because it's what you want and need. YOU tell ME if you liked it. If you don't, I have other options. If you do, just let me know."

Today, SS confirmed that, by saying she felt like the Lord was giving B and me a "sound mind" during the tour; so that we could make a non-emotion-based decision.

Sooo...

After hearing from the Lord about it last night, I stayed up a little while longer debating whether or not it's what I want.

And here is the conclusion I have come up with. Here is what I finally told the Lord.

I DO what this house, IF you provide the funds I need to make the repairs and remodels that I want to make.

And I feel like he told me to make a list of EVERYTHING I want in this house. So... I am going to make a notebook with sections that include basic repairs, my dream kitchen, a beautiful garden, 100% push-button gas fireplaces, another screened porch, a deck off the second level bedrooms, and I'm sure some other things I haven't even thought of yet.

So, anyways, I have to talk with B still, to make sure it is what he wants. I also want to make sure I add his desires to the list.

Having said all that... and having made the decision that I do, in fact, want this house... I can't HELP but DREAM about using it!!!

For instance...

There are TWO parlors. A rather large one that would be nice for visiting, playing games, etc.

And then there is a small one across the hall.

I want to use this one for a "worship arts" room. I want blank canvases and paint sets set up. I want a Bose surround-sound music system. I want a library of different versions of the Bible as well as "inspirational" reads - like Joyce Meyer, Max Lucado, John Eldredge, TD Jakes, etc. And I want this room to be a room solely dedicated to prayer and worship and meditation and expressing our love to Jesus.

Then, there is a bedroom towards the back of the house that I want to turn into my "Elisha Room." The room dedicated to and reserved for ministers who come into town. Off this room, I want to build french doors that lead onto a private screened porch. And off that screened porch, I want to create a private Garden, complete with fountain. I want this room to be a place of rest, repose, and restoration for the ministers that stay in my home.

As far as MY bedroom... I only have one thing to change. First, let me tell you about the "honeymoon suite" that B and I have decided we will live in. The bedroom is BEAUTIFUL with an antique mahogany four-poster bed, picture frame windows, and original hardwood floors. The bathroom that is connected has a separate room for the toilet, a large shower stall, and a HUGE whirl-pool tub. Beside the tub - a fire place. Oh yeah. Who's gonna get her bath on come time? I am! I am! *woot*

*sigh*

So the one thing I want to change? I want a HUGE walk-in closet! While this particular bedroom does have a beautiful mahogany armoir, it does not have nearly enough space for our "stuff." Although, I think I will be getting rid of a lot of that "stuff" this week, I still feel like we need more than a little armoir for what's left over. Sooo... perhaps I will have the contractor build in a closet. This is the only thing that I want changed that I feel is completely selfish. But the Lord told me to tell him what I want... so, I guess it's okay.

The last thing that needs to be changed... the kitchen. While it does have industrial-grade appliances and sinks, it is smaller than the kitchen I have now!!!

However, there is this one random bedroom off the kitchen that looks like it was built-on several years after the original structure was built. It is smaller and uglier than any of the other rooms, and you can't even access it from the main house. You have to go outside to get to it. So, I thought I could knock out the wall between the kitchen and that bedroom and create the kitchen that I have always wanted.

Last night, the kitchen was one of the main reasons I wasn't sure I wanted the house. But now, the idea of creating my own custom kitchen from scratch is one of the main reasons that I want the house!

Soooo....

That's where it's at. This is the house that I want, IF the Lord will provide the finances to do the repairs that I want.

Okie Dokie.

I guess that's it for now.

I'm really excited.

*woot*

Still have to talk to B, but I'm pretty sure this is it.

Anyways... can't wait to see what the Lord does!

Older // Latest