The Day After...

Well... as I'm sure you're all DYING to know what happened yesterday (hee hee)... here are the gory details:

It went really well.

SS talked about what the Lord has been speaking to her over the last few months, and explaining why she needs to leave at 2pm every day.

I talked about what the Lord has arranged in my life for the coming months, and explained why I was leaving.

GB and FB were very supportive. They both said they wanted us to do what we felt the Lord telling us.

But they also seemed discouraged that they are ONCE AGAIN having to look for a commercial service rep. This is an annual thing for them, and I think they are just getting tired of it.

They asked if I had any suggestions about the type of person to hire next.

I said that this job is not for the faint of heart, and they definitely needed somebody who wouldn't burst into tears every time someone got upset.

FB asked, "Is there anything we can do to make it easier on the next person coming in?"

My FIRST thought came to MC... our office manager... who is a relatively large pain in my a$$. (Pardon my French.)


But I withheld... for the moment.

SS said, "We are not leaving because this is a bad place to work, we are leaving because the Lord is telling us to."

FB said, "Well, I just didn't know if there had been any issues with MC or anything...."

And that was my cue!!

I FINALLY got to say to GB what I have been wanting to say for YEARS in regards to MC.

I said everything in love, and it DID NOT turn into an "I HATE MC" rave (as I REALLY wanted to do).

Basically, I said that she had made it very difficult for me to enjoy being at work some days.

She would come back, and in one sentence, could ruin the mood of the entire department.

Her authority is NOT over our department. Still, she constantly feels the need to come back and point out what SHE views as our departmental flaws.

I said, "She does a REALLY good job keeping things organized in this office. She really does. And most of the time, what she is saying about our department (or about us personally) is right. But the way that she says it can be very hateful. So... for the next person coming in... I would just be extra careful NOT to correct her because "MC says so." Rather, find out from the person specifically what is going on and what needs to be improved. I just wouldn't give MC too much power to "manage" that person."

They both agreed, and said that they think she is going through "The Change."

That explains a whole lot about her attitude lately.

They also said that she probably "attacks" me more than anybody because of "the baby."

Apparently, she is the only other person in our office who has ever left on maternity leave... and she didn't get paid for it.

I did.

But I got paid in lieu of a raise that year.

GB explained that to her.

Still, she has brought it up to him several times, according to FB.

That also explains a lot.

Sooooo.....

I registered for classes this morning.

Three on-campus classes from 9am to noon every Mon, Wed, Fri.

One independent study course on Greek Culture (yum, yum!).

Exciting stuff...

I am thinking about going and getting school supplies tonight.

But it's raining...

So... we'll see.

*woot*

bye!

Older // Latest