Wherever the wind blows....

My parents have been talking to me more and more about this new "career" in management training.

M&M will bring some books and materials when he comes to visit in June.

And me? I'm seriously considering it. Seriously.

I feel a little (more like a lot) intimidated by the whole thing. Why would these international business people listen to anything I have to say?

But I WILL have a degree from the 3rd ranked IR program in the country (right behind Harvard). And I DO have an "in" into the management training business.

I mean, why wouldn't the child of a doctor use that connection to get a practice started? Why wouldn't a lawyer's child pull those strings and get into a big firm? And why wouldn't the daughter of a trainer use that relation to get a leg-up in the management business?

Right now, my only motivation for pursuing this would be financial. But here's the thing: I've decided that sometimes that's a good enough reason to do something.

Because, if this thing pans out, I can quite literally set my own schedule... until retirement.

Want to take the summer off and travel with hubby? No problem.

Need a week off next month to help with the Kids' book fair? I'm there.

Don't want to work in November and December b/c of the holidays? Sure thing.

But...

Want to contribute to the household income? Work a couple days a month.

Want to make some money so I can get that new sofa? Train an extra day.

Want to go to Disney next year with the whole family? Book a week of training.

The more I think and pray about this path, the more I feel like it might be the right direction for me and my family.

My heart is not in it. That's true. But my heart is in my home... with my family...

And I simply cannot follow my heart there with no income. So if this "career" will allow me to follow my heart home, then I'm all about it.

It will be a couple years before I'm good and "in" my career. But the first steps can start this summer, while I'm in Korea.

I think I'm gonna do this thing. I think so. Still praying...

Speaking of doing things... I haven't written any more.

I really hate what has already been written, and I'm really praying for direction.

Older // Latest