The keys to my heart

"Have I told you lately that I love you?"

I know I have. At least a million times. In fact, sometimes I wonder that you don't tire of hearing the recitation of three, rather simple words.

So I thought I'd go deeper tonight.

It's Friday night... or Saturday morning, rather. Everybody is asleep... lost in their world of visions and dreams.

I have but one vision tonight. It is you.

I suppose the question I should ask myself now is, "Have I told you lately HOW MUCH I love you?"

Sometimes I fail to ask that question. Not because I forget. Oh, no. It would be easier to forget I have two arms or ten toes or a heart beating in my chest. My love for you is as much a part of me as any of those parts... nay, more so. Because your love touches everyone of those parts and brings it to life.

No one could ever forget the parts of his or her body. However, one could forget to appreciate those parts. It's very likely that many go throughout each day using each part... twisting it, stretching it, sometimes bruising and breaking it. But we never forget it's there.

So allow me now to stop and tell this "part" of me how much it means to me.

Brandon, you are my hero, my best friend, my confidant, my breath, my heartbeat.

You reached into this little girl and searched and struggled and faught... and found something worth loving... something I did not even know was there.

You turned this little girl into a princess... a priceless jewel... a rare treasure. Though no one else saw it, you transformed my world in one fail swoop.

And for that, I owe you my life.

"How great is the love the Lord has lavished upon us, that we should be called children of God."

You are the only person in the world that has touched my soul... not just my emotions... or my secrets... or even the dark crevices of my heart.

Yes, you touched those places, and impacted my life greatly.

But what I realize tonight that you have reached a part of me that no man has ever reached before... my soul.

What is so incredible is the fact that... I didn't let you in.

I don't even have the key.

God does.

God holds the keys to my life, my heart, my emotions... and my soul.

And He has entrusted you with them.

Mind you, they are not yours permenantly. Oh, no. They are simply on lone.

They're yours "to have and to hold, from this day forward, till death do you part."

Then, God will reach out His tender hands, coddle the keys in his palm, and ask you, "What have you done with the things I have given you?"

I know what I want you to say when that question is posed.

Say "I treasured them. I kept them close to my heart. I made their captor feel like the most valuable item ever entrusted to me. I managed them well, and was careful to never let them out of my hand. That is what I did with my gift."

You hold the keys to my heart. They are yours until God asks for their return. It was not my decision; it was not my choice.

However...

Had it been my choice, you would be it.

Older // Latest