Catch-up Today

I'm not sure what changed, or when, or how, or why it changed. But I know it changed. And I love it.

It's the little things that make such a huge difference. Like, last night:

He was doing his statistics homework. I was reading my novel for class. And I said, "This looks like it's going to be a really good book. It's about..."

Now, at this point, he would normally continue looking at the computer screen, give an occasional MmHm (if that), and I was never really sure he was listening. I would occasionally say to him, "Did you hear a word I just said?" To which he would quickly regurgitate my last 4-5 words.

But, last night - at the point when I normally have to decide to finish my sentence despite the fact that he's not listening - he stopped, put down his pencil, turned, and looked at me... and listened to what I was saying. Then he said, "That does sound really interesting."

I was flabbergasted. (If that's a word)

I mean, he chose me over homework! Eh?

We went to the movies, and he made little funny comments through the whole movie, like he used to do when we were dating. I loved sitting there. I didn't even enjoy the movie that much, but I loved sitting next to him, just waiting for the occasional whisper in my ear. Then I would whisper back. We both would laugh.

I felt like I was in highschool again... in a good way.

It was so beautiful.

I found myself praying for him this morning. Throughout this whole ordeal, it was so difficult to pray anything except, "God, do something! I can't take this!"

But this morning, as I was putting on my makeup, just after he had voluntarily kissed me good bye (something I normally have to ask for if I want it) I found myself praying, "God, bless him today. Bless him financially. Give him favor at work with his customers and with his boss. Help him to feel your presence today... to hear your voice."

I haven't prayed that in a long time... I can't even remember when or why I stopped.

Then today, I called him at work to remind him of a bill and tell him what we're having for dinner. I said, "Oh, and there was something important that I called you about, but now I can't remember."

To be honest, there was nothing more important. He just always sounds so ticked if I call for something as simple as "here's what's for dinner tonight." So I said there was something more important so that he wouldn't get mad.

But, instead, he made a joke. "Well, what you just said is pretty important. I mean, I'm not going to go starve tonight, and we have health insurance. That's important enough."

WHAT?!?!

We laughed.

"I love you."

"I love you too."

"Goodnight"

Does this sound like a fairy tale to anyone else? Okay, so maybe it's normal. But after such a long stretch where both of us were tippy-toe-ing on eggshells, it feels like heaven to put our full foot down on some green grass.

__________________________________

I came to work today... stuffy nose and all. My boss walked back to my coworker's office where the two of us were discussing the plan for the day. He closed the door. *oh lord!* That's always a bad sign. It always means I'm in trouble.

But this morning, he sat down with a big smile and said, "What's wrong with you?"

I said, "I had a sore throat on Friday. Headache. Stuffy nose. Fever. The whole bit."

To which he replied, with a huge grin on his face, "Well, we're gonna pray that out."

So he came over and laid his hands on me and prayed.

How amazing is that?

It's the second time he's done that, and I am just as awe-struck this time as I was then.

Despite all the "politics" that go on in this office, who else can claim a boss who has the faith to pray for them? I am grateful, to say the least.

________________________________

Talked with AB today about C's shower. I'm so very excited! I really wish I could get her stroller for her, but I just don't think the finances are there.

Anyways, I'm really excited about the shower. Seeing all the girls again will be really nice, and that will probably be the next and last time I see C before she moves to Memphis.

*sniffle*

We won't discuss that right now.

*sob*

I'm going to continue pretending that it is not happening.

_________________________

Well, I suppose that's all. Sorry this has been such a dull entry. I'll see if I can come up with something more exciting later.

My brain is still kickin' it with the cough syrup. Mmmm....

Older // Latest