Happy Friday

Sometimes the feeling of fingertips on bare skin is the most sensual thing...

Last night was wonderful. No sex. Not needed.

He laid across me. I rubbed his back. We both fell asleep.

I woke up a little later and nudged him to come back up beside me.

He did.

We slept in each others arms.

So precious to me. I love those nights.

___________________________________

C is officially moving today.

And somehow last weekend gave me some closure in that part of my life.

I don't mean "closure" in the same way one would use it when breaking up with somebody.

I simply mean, I don't feel so torn anymore.

I love C. I always will. I'm excited about seeing her in Memphis, talking with her on the phone, emails, pictures, etc.

But I no longer feel like my heart is divided. I don't long to be in Cleveland and Athens at the same time.

Cleveland is no longer home.

I said that to AB. She said it was because C was leaving. I said it wasn't.

But the more I think about it, that is exactly why Cleveland is no longer home.

I will always love it, and the people in it.

I will still go visit.

But my heart is no longer there.

I no longer equate Cleveland with seeing C.

It is Friday, and for the first Friday in a very long time, I don't want to leave for Cleveland so I can spend the weekend with her.

I'm excited about date night tonight. I'm going to a ladies brunch at our church tomorrow. Christmas shopping. Cleaning house. Visiting with Jen.

I'm ready to pursue relationships here.

I told God before that I needed friends here.

But I was not willing to pursue them. Now I realize it was because, in my heart, I didn't want to make new friends here. That would mean Athens is home. And I wasn't ready to admit that yet.

But somehow, letting go of where I was has opened my heart to embrace where I'm going.

I wasn't ready before.

Now I am.

Thank God.

_____________________________________

Regional Sales Manager coming in today. Once again, I found out about it at 8:30 this morning. Once again it's on a day when I overslept.

Wrinkled pants. Hair in a pony tail. Blah.

But this is guy will only be our sales manager for December. In January, my "contact" is taking over. I'm very excited about that.

When Mrs.DD asked, I told her it would probably be 4-5 years before we have kids because that is probably how long it will take for me to get an agency.

C said she thought it would be more like two years.

Although I've never said it out loud, in my heart I think it will be more like two years also.

I pray for that.

But it also scares me a bit.

I feel very underqualified.

"God doesn't call the qualified. He qualifies the called."

hehe. How many times have I told people that? And here I am having to remind myself.

Anyways. In God's timing.

____________________________________

Youth group was friggin' awesome Wednesday night. For the second week in a row I had a couple kids who didn't know the basic salvation message.

I said something to the affect of "God sent his son to die."

And these two new guys said, "What!?! God killed his son???"

So I tried to get the kids in my group to tell me how to get saved. I wanted to know about Jesus and the cross and all that goes along with it.

Most of them remembered and understood the concepts from last week, but none of them could articulate it.

I didn't think I had time to go into all of it again, but it has got me thinking.

I'm going to call Pastor A to make sure it's okay with him.

But here, at Christmas time, I want to teach them the Christmas story... to the point where they KNOW it backwards and forwards.

I grew up in a Christian school, and I have heard the "salvation message" all my life.

But for some of these kids, last week was the first time they've heard why Jesus died.

All of them are saved, in the sense that they have given their lives over to God.

But none of them (even the "church kids")really understand the crucifixion.

So I want to spend Christmas time talking about the birth of Jesus.

Then from January to Easter, I want to talk about the crucifixion and resurection.

Then if they have it "down pat," we will move into the ascention and Pentacost.(sorry if I'm butchering these spellings.)

Anyways, I have to talk with Pastor A to make sure it's all okay, but I think it's going to be awesome!

____________________________________

Hehe... sorry... I just got off the phone with Pastor A. He thought it was a great idea.

*woot*

I'm so excited!

______________________________________

I suppose that's it for now.

Happy Friday, everybody!!!!

Older // Latest