I'll have a blue *woo oo ooo oo* Christmas...

Such a slacker at work today. I had the entire week off, and I still don't feel like doing anything.

Going to my second Christmas party of the year tonight. I have to say, I LOVE whoever came up with the White Elephant game. Granted, I have never been involved in an *actual* white elephant game - where everybody brings something from their house that they don't want - but I have been to numerous *fake* white elephant games - where you buy a $10 - $15 gift.

For those of you who don't know what a white elephant is...

google it.

I was going to explain, but I really don't feel like it.

(Still PMS-y? You bet.)

Anyways, the white elephant game is SOOOO much better than actually buying a gift for someone. First of all, you don't have to panic if the person you bought it for doesn't like it. You are suppose to buy a gift that YOU like, and hope that other people like it too. If the person who got it doesn't like it so much, steal it from them, and let them have a shot at a different gift. Groovy, eh?

Unfortunately, this little excersize is only reserved for non-family or extended-family parties. For the other loved ones in my life, I actually have to shop.

Now, please understand, it's not that I don't want to spend the money. Really. If I could give every person cold, hard cash, I would be MORE than pleased.

No, money is not the problem.

The problem is the people that I buy for. This time of year only reminds me of how much I don't know my friends and family. People that I should know everything about, I have no idea what they would want for Christmas.

I always combine my mom and step-dad into one gift certificate to a restaraunt. This is always nice because my mom LOVES to go out to eat, and she rarely gets to. HOWEVER, it's not such a great gift for my step-dad because he doesn't care so much for going out to eat. But I can't very well give my mom a card that is enough for ONE person and then get him something else, can I? That would defeat the purpose of the gift altogether. *garsh* Plus, cards are not nearly as fun to open as gifts.

Still, I know at least one person will be happy with her gift this year.

Then there is the in-laws. I think I have previously posted about how, when I asked my MIL for a Christmas list (after I sent her ours per her continuous nagging and begging), she replied by saying, "You don't have to buy us any gifts; your presence is enough."

That is a sweet sentiment. But on many MANY occasions, B (being the typical male that he is) has actually LISTENED to her statements like that, only to receive a phonecall from his dad the next day telling him about how very upset and hurt she was because he spent more on his dad than on her... or because there wasn't enough thought that went into her gift... or because of some other emotionally blackmaling reason.

So you can see... there is quite a bit of pressure when buying her gift. How does it compare with what we got his dad? my mom? me?

My brother has no money. So he is spending like less than $10 on me and B combined. THAT IS FINE WITH ME!!! Gifts are like my LOWEST love language.

But... here is the problem that arises now. What do we get him? If we spend any DECENT amount of money on him, then he might feel bad for not spending as much on us. But if we spend as much as he is spending, he's gonna get a pretty lame gift. So... not a huge predicament, but still something that has to be considered.

My dad's family has the RIGHT idea. No gifts. None. Not one. My grandmother, as her "gift" to us, has rented a cabin in Pigeon Forge, and the ENTIRE family is going for MLK weekend. My dad's gift to us is cash, that he will give us as we are leaving on the trip - enough to pay for one nice evening out and a couple souveniers. Our gift to them? Taking time off work to go (which equals about the sum of $350 per couple).

Pretty cool, huh?

The "women folk" (including me) have been feverishly planning what meals and desserts we're going to take with us. The men (who usually have very little to say... ever) have been talking non-stop about all the skiing they are going to do.

Don't you see how much better it is? We get to spend time together and build memories with one another. And it is costing about the same amount of money as buying pointless gifts that nobody likes and will certainly not remember next year.

I realize all of our families can't do this. We would be gone for the entire month of January. But, aren't there better things to do on this holiday than stress and complain about the gifts we give and receive?

Bah Humbugg.

I know.

________________________________________

I'm actually really excited about this year's parties. We're doing white elephants.

Last year was our first year to attend these as a married couple. Before that, I was just "B's girlfriend." I NEVER had fun and frequently felt very left out of the loop.

So last year wasn't as much fun either because, despite the fact that I was, in fact, in the loop, I was nervous the whole time of being kicked back out again.

However, this year, after months of living in Athens and attending parties, I am VERY excited about the Christmas ones.

_______________________________________

I think I have a generally Scrooge-ish outlook on life right now.

Definitely need to get into some worship on my way home.

This whole thing with my body is really bothering me.

Aunt Flow still isn't there.

I went online and searched the symptoms I'm having...

All three web site said the same thing...

Now, I'm not speaking this over myself...

And I am CERTAINLY praying against it...

They all said that it was Pelvic Inflammation Disease.

Usually accompanied with an STD (which we all know I can't have), it can also "just appear".

It can cause scar tissue in the "female parts" that may effect future infertility.

One site said, "See a doctor immediately."

Another one said, "Even waiting 1 or 2 days can greatly increase your chances of long-term damage."

This has been going on for MONTHS.

But, like I said, I am praying against it.

The funny thing is, the day after B told me about his pregnancy dream, GB (my boss) came in and told all of us girls in the office that we need to start praying about our babies and pregnancies before they even come. (He knew a girl who did this, and she had a very smooth pregnancy with a 2-hour delivery.) So I have been praying ever since he said that.

Now I see all this and... garsh.

Anyways, I'm going to wait until after the New Year to see somebody so that it will go towards my deductible.

Actually... I think I'm going to call for an appointment right now.

_____________________________________

I just called... December 29. That's sooner than I thought it would be.

_______________________________________

Welp. I suppose that is enough ranting for today. I have more to say (hey, it HAS been a week), but I need to pace myself.

peace out.

Older // Latest