The wacky weekend

*whew*

What a weekend!

9 girls ended up coming.

1 backed out at the last minute.

Did I mention only 1 bathroom?

It was crazy.

At one point, my carpet looked like a tie-dye.

Here is the list of things that spilled on my light beige carpet...

- 2 full cups of orange Sunkist.
- 2 plates of spaghetti (with red sauce)
- 1/2 cup of hot chocolate

I was quite proud of myself, though. No freaking out. No crying. No screaming. Just, "That's okay, I'll grab the oxyclean."

By the end of the weekend, they were calling me the "Oxy-mama!" tee hee... I think I like that name.

Anyways... it was certainly fun, if nothing else.

I think the girls really got ministered to. We did the "say something nice about each other" thing that is done on the Starlite retreats. They especially seemed to enjoy that, and more than one girl talked later about their low self-esteem and feelings of friendlessness (is that a word?). They said that this really helped them in those areas.

At night, there were bodies everywhere. Haha... two on the futon, two in the bed, two on the air mattress, two on the floor, one on the couch, and me on the other couch. I was just praying we wouldn't have a fire... we would have never made it out.

Food... that was the biggest hit of the weekend. 4 cans of Pringles, 6 bags of popcorn, 1.5 gallons of ice cream, cookies, brownies, candy... you name it, they ate it. For breakfast Saturday morning, I cooked THREE (3) POUNDS of bacon, 3 dozen eggs, and a loaf of bread. The bacon was gone immediately. The French Toast was next. And there were a few scrambled eggs left.

Oh! Did I mention 2 gallons of milk and 1 gallon of o.j. and 4 2-liter soft drinks.

Yeah. Those girls can put away some food. Luckily, somebody else made and brough dinner on Saturday night (hence, the spaghetti stains).

The most important thing is that they came closer to God... and to each other.

I'm so glad they all came.

Honestly, I think I was blessed more than they were. I woke up Saturday morning, to the sound of whispering girls (who, I think, may have never gone to sleep), and I felt like my heart could burst. All I could think was how grateful I was to have them there. If I wasn't sure before, I know it now: This is where my heart is.

Next year, we'll have a bigger house, and perhaps more girls will be able to come. How much fun is that?!?!

________________________________

So here I am at work this morning - rather exhausted.

Despite my popped-out belly, I am quite proud of the outfit I put together for my interview tonight. Black maternity pants, cream satin tank top, pink velvet blazer, a strand of black pearls with matching earrings, and my heels (that I only wear for VERY special occasions because otherwise my feet might fall off).

Kind of nervous about the interview, although not as much as I have been about past interviews. Something tells me this is of the Lord, and so as long as I do my best, I have nothing to worry about.

_________________________________

Woo hoo... sorry to cut this short, but my cuz is helping me set up Yahoo IM from work. *woot* Yet another distraction from what I should be doing.

Older // Latest