Life. Liberty. Happiness... unless your a mom

I'm angry this afternoon.

Fightin' mad.

It's not fair.

It's discrimination.

It's against everything that this Nation is supposed to stand for.

Life. Liberty. Pursuit of Happiness (originally Property).

I am giving life.

And I am trying to pursue happiness/property.

But no.

NO!!!

NOOOO!!

That's all I ever hear!!!!!

Do you realize that Canadian moms get 2-4 months PAID maternity leave, with the guarantee of a job when they get back. In other "civilized" nations, it is ILLEGAL to fire or not hire a woman for any reason even RELATED to pregnancy. In Sweden, they get AN ENTIRE YEAR... PAID...maternity... for MOMS and DADS.

And here I am in the United States. The beacon of equality and hope for the oppressed.

AND I CAN'T GET A STINKIN' JOB BECAUSE I AM PREGNANT!!!

Not only am I being fired from my current job for a reason "related to pregnancy" but I can't get a job that "is perfect for you" and "you would do great" but "I'm afraid you'll leave after you have the baby."

*AAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHH*

So... you know me... I research...

There has to be SOMETHING in this GREAT NATION to defend ME... the impoverished, pregnant, soon-to-be-out-of-a-job female.

But NOOOOOOOO.

I type "Maternity Rights in the United States" into google.com.

Four sites come up.

FOUR!!

THAT'S IT!

The rest are about France, or Italy, or Canada, or the UK.

*psh*

Then... I remember one last hope... the MOTHER of women's rights.

Very liberal.

Very left wing.

Usually a group I would roll my eyes at.

But SURELY of ANY group in the U.S. *NOW* would have something to say!

NATIONAL ORGANIZATION OF WOMEN.

That's what they call themselves.

Ha!

Shall we make that, "National organization of man-eating, job-stealing, loudspeaker-screaming, pretend activists who only support SOME women who fit what THEY consider to be 'ideal' womanhood."


I spent almost an hour on their site.

I finally searched "Maternity Rights."

ONE STINKING SITE.

ONE!!!!


O-N-E!!!!

The rest were about Iraqi women agreeing to a constitution... and how they had good speakers at their most recent conference.


WHAT THE FUDGE!?!?!?!?!

These women are supposed to be supporting ME, standing up for ME, defending MY rights.

And they don't even know women like me exist.

I'm furious.

My stepdad called a lawyer to see what rights I have.

Bottom line...

None.

If an employer has fewer than 50 employees, he/she doesn't have to abide by MOST of the maternity laws.

If he/she has fewer than 15 employees... he/she doesn't have to abide by ANY of the maternity laws.

So basically, if you go to work for a small business - attempting to boost the American economy by working in a new, backbone-of-the-nation business - the nation rips you off.

You have no rights.

Your maternity doesn't count as much as one with a woman who works in "corporate America."

Your baby doesn't matter to us.

Screw you.

You have no rights.

Didn't your mother tell you it's a man's world?

CAN YOU TELL I'M MAD??????????????

I literally think smoke is coming out of my ears.

And I want to DO something.

I want to start a pressure group... and go to D.C. And PRESSURE those pompous pricks in Washington to DO something for me,... and the 43% of women like me... YES... THAT'S RIGHT...43%... of women to which the maternity laws DO NOT APPLY! Why even write a law if it won't even help 43% of the demographic it was written for???????????????

And somehow I feel my political science passion rising up in me.

I want to DO something.

If not today... tomorrow... and if not then... two years from now...

THIS IS DISCRIMINATION!

AND IT SHOULD NOT STAND IN THIS COUNTRY!!

We talk and talk about how women of "third-world" or "impoverished" or "underdeveloped" nations have it so rough.

We want to help you. Get into the workplace. Make something of yourself. Get an education. Only marry when you want and to whom you want. Take birth control to stop having kids, that it, unless you want them.

BUT IF YOU WANT THEM, SCREW YOU! GET BACK IN THE KITCHEN!

Is that not the message that corporate America, and the laws that support it, are sending to these nations?

"We will support you and help you and do everything we can for you... as long as you live life like a man... dedicate your life to work... dont' have kids... and if you do... DON'T EXPECT US TO HELP!!!

Forget the fact that these young women and mothers-to-be are bright, well-educated, inspired adults.

Forget that she could be the doctor that cures AIDS. Or the scientist that finds alternative fuels.

It's doesn't matter that these women are hard-working, dilligent, and industrious citizens.

Who cares that SHE could be the next president?

SHE'S PREGNANT! OH, GOD! MAKE HER GO BACK HOME!!!

You can sell Mary Kay, mmkay?

Make your husband take a second... or a third job, right?

Stay home, cook, clean, take care of you baby, and for GOD'S SAKE... DON'T WORK!!!

Are you getting tired of this, dear reader?

WELL SO AM I!!!!!!!


SOMEBODY needs to DO something.

Even if that SOMEBODY is me.

Pardon me while I go write a letter to my congressmen...

CongressMEN.

*sheesh*

Like that is going to do a lot of good.

Well...

Pardon me while I go start my own congressional campaign.

SOMEBODY has got to do SOMETHING.

Older // Latest