My hubby

I would just like to say, once again, how amazing my husband is.

So, he took over the finances last November. (When I say "took over," I mean he is now "in charge" of the check book - paying bills, determining how much we can spend where, etc.) Since that time, I have NO idea where our money is. I mean, we could be in bankruptsy for all I know. But, I completely trust him to do the essentials - pay bills, and make sure we don't bounce checks.

But little did I know that he went well above that.

When I heard the news about my car yesterday (see previous entry) I was dreading my return home. I mean, this stuff stresses him out to the max, usually causing him to take it out in other areas.

So I picked him up from church last night, and he seemed fine. I asked him about his day. He answered. He asked me about mine. I answered. Same ol' conversation. I thought, "Is he in denial or what?"

So when we got home, I finally asked him how he's feeling about everything.

He just very calmly started breaking down the money issues:

"We have $xxx in the bank. Minus the $xxx we spent on floors and the $xxx for mortgage and bills. But then you can add $xxx from our paychecks and $xxx from the rent check that's coming in. So, we are just about breaking even."

Now, knowing my husband, "breaking even" is NEVER good enough. He always wants that little cushion "just in case." But that is exactly the reason that I am so proud of him. We DO have that "cushion;" so when "just in case" happened, we weren't in the hole.

He talked with FIL last night, who knows a guy who knows a guy that will replace the engine for a lower price. In the meantime, FIL is letting us borrow his "extra" car to help us get around until the Volvo is repaired.

So last night, after figuring out where we are financially, we laughed and ate dinner (Inoko's that my mom bought us -- hooray for mom)and packed boxes.

And that is why I am amazed with him. That in the midst of all this upheaval and our financial security falling down around us, he is as confident as ever, and still finds a way to make me laugh.

We decided to stop packing around 10pm and popped in our new favor show-on-dvd: "Stargate."

Hehe... I know... dorky sci fi stuff... but don't judge me until you watch Tilk fight an army from PS592 while he's half blind with a half-dead symbiote. Yeah, now THAT's entertainment.

=)

Afterwards, we crawled into bed and snuggled until we fell asleep.

Then he is up this morning starting his first day of summer classes.

And never a complaint. Just a reason to make me laugh.

See? He IS amazing. It's not just me, is it?

Okay... I'm off to work.

*kisses*

Older // Latest