The mom talk and the sermon and the seven stinkin' policies

So. I had "the talk" with my mom last night.

She teared up a couple times. Especially when I told her that CJ was spending the weekend at Gana's house.

But, as I pray about it, I really feel like that has nothing to do with me. It is an issue that she needs to deal with on her own, with the Lord.

She is still acting weird today. I think she needs to process a lot.

I tried not to be mean. Really I did. But I have also had "nice" talks with her in the past that didn't do any good. So I almost wonder if it was the Lord that this boldness came out of me.

And maybe it wasn't.

And maybe I was just being mean.

I don't know.

I can't even decide if I'm glad that we had the conversation or not.

I don't want to hurt her or bring up past junk between her and my dad/stepmom. But at the same time, I don't want CJ growing up in that same uncomfortable atmosphere that I did - where I was constantly being forced to choose between parents. I don't want CJ to feel like Grandma is mad at her because she went over to Gana's house. And so, the sooner this is dealt with, the better.

I suppose.

I don't know.

But I said what I felt like needed to be said.

And I will continue praying for her - for us - for our relationship.

I know she must still be in pain. That kind of fear of rejection never really goes away. But maybe the Lord is trying to do something in her through this. Maybe He is bringing it to the surface so that He can heal it, ya know?

Anyways, it's in God's hands now. I've said my peace, and I've done what I felt like I could. The rest is between her and God.

...............................

I am teaching tonight in Youth Group. I think I finally have my lesson planned.

At first, when I knew I was supposed to talk about emotional healing, I thought that the night would turn into a huge cry-fest where we all would get in the altar and "be healed" from the pain that Satan has inflicted upon our feminine hearts.

But, through the week, as I have been praying about it, I feel the Lord saying the words, "Healing PROCESS."

I feel like the girls need, not another emotional experience, but a real-life look at the healing process that takes place when these wounds are inflicted.

And so, using the rather humorous tale of my tragic bicycle accident, I am going to talk about the three steps to healing a wound:

1. Clean Out the Wound. Use peroxide or alcohol or whatever you need to use in order to get all the dirt/gravel/junk out of the wound.

This represents what the girls (hopefully) did last week, which is getting rid of unforgiveness/bitterness/hatred toward people who hurt us.

2. Put on a healing ointment. Using fingers or a cotton swab, slather ointment on every part of the open wound.

This represents us allowing the "Healing Balm of Gilead" or the Holy Spirit to "touch" those places and pour Himself all over it. This may be scary (like when someone looks like they are about to touch a freshly-skinned knee), but after it's done, the wound immediately feels better.

But just because it feels better, doesn't mean it is completely healed...

3. Cover the wound with a bandage AND CHANGE THE BANDAGES OUT DAILY. If you stick a bandage on there, but never change it out, the wound can get much MUCH worse.

The bandage also does two things - it allows the healing balm not to be wiped off every time the wound is brushed up against something. It also keeps the wound clean from any more dirt/gravel/junk that could get in it.

This represents a DAILY REFRESHING of the Word of God. Covering this area of pain with The Word will allow the Holy Spirit to continue the healing process. It will also protect bitterness and hatred setting up in that area and "infecting" us.

Pretty neat stuff, eh?

Every week, we have given the girls a "gift" to remind them of what they learned that week.

I know this sounds lame, but I think I am just going to take band aids and write a scripture reference on each one then have them stick the band aid on tonight's page in their journal.

And I will say to them, "Last week, we cleaned the wound out by forgiving those who hurt us. Tonight, I believe the Holy Spirit is going to come and put the healing ointment on. But that's not enough. This band aid in your journal will be a reminder to stay in the Word and let it protect the healing process."

The verse I have picked out is one that is mentioned in "Captivating":

Isaiah 61:1-3
"1 The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me,because the LORD has anointed me to preach good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners,

2 to proclaim the year of the LORD's favor and the day of vengeance of our God,
to comfort all who mourn,

3 and provide for those who grieve in Zion�
to bestow on them a crown of beauty
instead of ashes,
the oil of gladness
instead of mourning,
and a garment of praise
instead of a spirit of despair.
They will be called oaks of righteousness,
a planting of the LORD
for the display of his splendor."

Jesus didn't just come to die for our sins so we could go to Heaven. He came so that we could be made whole. He came to heal us. "By His stripes, we are healed." And that's an emotional healing too.

This healing is on the top of His list of priorities. Isaiah 61 basically says this: "I came to proclaim the good news (salvation). But, that's not all, I also came to replace your mourning with gladness. The things that are one you that define you as a mourner (ashes), I want to replace with things that will define you as joyous (flowers). And when I am done, YOU will be a person that others can look at and say, 'Wow! Look what God has done!' because YOU will be a true bearer of My beauty."

*whew*

Good stuff.

...............

So that's what I'm talking about in Youth tonight. Please be praying for me. And praying for the girls. And praying for the Holy Spirit to come and release the healing balm onto their wounds.

Amen. and Amen.

.........................

Okay... I suppose I should go get to work now. We have 3 out of 7 policies written. And we have 5 that are pending. They could either come in this week or next. Please be praying for this week so that I can go to this conference!

Thanks, ya'll. You are AWESOME!

Peace out.

Older // Latest