"Get Over Yourself"

This is so amazing! In addition to my previous entry... here is something else the Lord showed me from that page.

At DayStar, part of my prophecy was this:

"The Lord, tonight...wants you to go for the high calling of the mark of Jesus Christ. Forget the things that are behind you. He wants you to overcome. He wants you to overcome YOU. He wants you to get over yourself and some of the things of the past. Let them go. Strive for the high calling of the mark of Jesus Christ. And He's given you a new telephone system too. This is a verse I want you to have tonight. It's from the Lord. It's Isaiah 65:24. I'm going to put your name in it as I read it. It says, "And it shall come to pass that before Brandy calls, I will answer; and while she is yet speaking, I will hear." And that's a pretty good telephone system, that even before you call, He's answering you."

Up until today, I totally didn't get the whole "Get over yourself" part. I have asked, "Lord, if I am prideful, please show me and convict me. If I'm in the way, please show me how to move." But I have heard nothing.

But as I read this next paragraph from that same web site, I received a revelation.

The paragraph reads, "It may be that some part of her ego must "die" in order to get out of her own way and surrender control to the instinctual part of her being that knows how to give birth.
When a woman is able to release into her own intuitive consciousness, she gives birth to the spirit of the "Divine Mother" within, opening herself up to experience birth at a profound spiritual level."

And it suddenly makes sense.

My entire life, I have been taught, "When you go to church, or to a Bible study, or even in your prayer time, don't check your brain at the door." This phrase "Don't check your brain at the door" has been nagging me for a while now. Another thing that has been running through my head is a recent conversation I had with MM (my stepdad). I was telling him about John Crowder's new book, "The New Mystics" that I am starting to read. (For those of you who don't know, this particular definition of Mysticism refers to "is meditation, prayer, or theology focused on the direct experience of union with divinity, God.... or the belief that such experience is a genuine and important source of knowledge....it can refer to using any kind of non-rational means � such as feeling or faith � in attempt to arrive at any kind of knowledge or belief." wikipedia.) And as I was telling this to MM, he said, "You don't need to read that, you are too mystical as it is."

And those two phrases, "Check your brain at the door" and "You are too mystical as it is" have been haunting the back of my mind for several days now. Especially with all the stuff the Lord has been teaching me. Praying with my body, for example, is a strictly experiential thing. It is not rational. It makes no sense. But it's what I have felt led to do, and I experience the presence of the Holy Spirit in it.

But through all this stuff (there are a lot more) I constantly hear those two phrases. And, out of fear, I don't talk very much about what He has been teaching me. And I even feel a little embarrassed because I realize that it makes no sense.

And this is where those two words come in: "Get over yourself" and "Surrender control to the instinctual part of her being." Because, the bottom line is that we were created to EXPERIENCE God. We were created to walk and talk with Him. That is what Eden was all about! It is INSTINCTUAL! And so, what I have been doing, and what the Lord has been teaching me, is to follow Him INSTINCTUALLY! Without thought, setting my reasoning aside, and EXPERIENCING HIM!!!

I don't think this "experiential" season will last forever. I feel like there will come a balance between the structured, uniform study of His Word and the unstructured, unpredictable following of His Spirit.

But right now, I have to say, it's a whole lot of fun. It's a NEW THING!

And, now that I know it's okay to set my own mind aside for a time, I am really excited to see what's coming next!

Older // Latest