My "big" baby

I am taking a quick little work break to update... just for you.

So, BJ's new girlfriend, AW, is awesome!

I have only met her twice, but I felt an immediate connection.

So, for purely selfish motives, and for some not-so-selfish motives, I really want them to get married NOW!!

Hehe... but in the meantime, she has said she wants to call me about some stuff that's going on with her.

*woot*

I'm very excited about the prospects of getting to know her better.

She has gone home for the summer because she is still in college at Emmanuel. But she will be back in a couple months, and I can't wait to hang out with both of them more!!!!

.................

In other news, B's birthday is coming up in a couple weeks. He has requested Guitar Hero for XBox 360.

The problem: he does not have an XBox 360.

He says he might get one at some point in the future, but at this moment, it is just a dream.

So, here is my dilemma:

Do I buy Guitar Hero AND the 360, totaling around $400 (which we really can't afford)?

Do I buy Guitar Hero AND a PS2 (which is supposedly not as good) totaling around $200?

Do I buy Guitar Hero for the 360 and leave it up to him to get the 360 when he feels like we have the money?

And here is the reasoning I am using to make this decision:

If I buy Guitar Hero AND the 360, I will have to use a credit card because otherwise he will ask me why we are missing $400 from our checking account. But if I use the credit card for that amount, it may never be paid off. Plus, he might get mad at me for spending that much in the first place.

If I buy Guitar Hero AND the PS2, the quality of the game diminishes greatly. BUT he has said that he wants to add a PS2 to his "collection" anyways.

If I just buy the Guitar Hero for the 360, I am staying within my budget and I am getting him a good quality game. BUT he can't play it when he gets it. And THAT would be a major bummer for his birthday.

SOOO....

Having written all that out, I STILL have no idea what I am going to do.

If you have any thoughts, comments, random bits of trivia, I WELCOME your input.

................

I really have nothing else to write about, except this:

My baby girl has officially started crawling. She actually crawled for the first time last Saturday night. Now she is scooting around like nobody's business. She has also sprouted 3 teeth. None of them are completely in, and one of them is just now breaking through the gums.

So as you might imagine, it has been an interesting week.

It's like she can't decide what she wants. She has new found independence in her crawling and absolutely pitches a FIT if I pick her up.

But, at the same time, she is in constant pain and in need of some mommy comfort. So when I put her down, she cries to be held.

What's a mommy to do?

I just try to be as patient as I can, but I think I might have to start being "mean mommy" when those tantrums sneak up on us. That cannot be tolerated any longer because I think she knows she is playing us like a fiddle. She throws that little head back, flails her arms, and lets out a blood-curdling inhuman scream. You would think we are torturing the poor child, when all we are doing is picking her up or changing her diaper.

Another development in the life of my eight month old baby... I had to pop her little hand this morning.

Now, before you run out and call DFACS on me, I was very in control and she didn't even cry. There were no marks, and nobody is traumatized.

Still, she started reaching for some power cords. She would crawl towards them. I would say "no." She would look back and me, then turn and continue crawling. I would say "NO!" She looked at me, smiled very sneakily, and then continued to crawl towards it. I would pick her up and put her somewhere far away from the cords. She would scream the whole time her little body was off the floor, and then turn back towards the cords as soon as she was put down.

Sooo... when she finally grabbed the cords, I very firmly said "NO!!" and popped her little hand. I also put some chairs in front of it so she couldn't grab them any more.

*sniffle*

I think I was much more torn up about it than she was.

She looked at me like, "Why did you just do that, you nut case?"

But she did move on to another part of the room.

I left the room entirely and tried to hold back my tears.

...

Well, it's time for me to leave work. I'll finish this little update tomorrow.

*smiles*


Older // Latest