That's the way - uh huh, uh huh - I like it - uh huh, uh huh

Not much to talk about today, dear diary.

I taught youth last night. It was... eh... okay.... just okay.

The room was set up in a strange way so that the kids were really spread out and basically facing each other. That became very distracting to me.

And when did it become okay for parents or OTHER PASTORS to stick their head in the door and say something to a kid or call a kid out DURING THE MIDDLE OF THE MESSAGE?

That happened TWICE last night. One parent needed to give his kid the keys. And one MUSIC PASTOR had to call a kid out of the room completely.

Not to mention the couple kids that needed to move because they were talking too much.

*sheesh*

So, throughout the course of the twenty-minute message, there were a grand total of FOUR kids that randomly got up and walked across the room. And since they had to cross the middle of of the room (where everyone was basically facing)to get to the door or to another seat, I don't think I was the only one who couldn't focus.

Still, I think the message was the one that I was supposed to deliver. And (especially towards the end) I really felt the Anointing fall. So, all's well that ends well, I suppose.

.............

In other news, my dinner party is tonight. Yes, that's right. This thing has gone from "having a couple girls over" to a full-on dinner party.

And do you know what I have decided that I am in need of? One of THOSE friends.

You know, the friend that shows up an hour early to help out. The one who will do anything from stirring the soup pot to mopping your kitchen floor, in order to help you get ready for your guests.

She's the one who entertains your guests when you have to be in the kitchen.

She's also the one who you call and ask "Can you pick up a bag of ice and a tub of ice cream on your way?"

She'll watch the baby while you get ready, and she'll answer the door while you're pulling your food out of the oven (or vice versa).

She does things before you ask her to do them, simply because she sees that it needs to be done. And since she knows where everything is, you sometimes don't even know that she is doing it because she never mentions it to you.

Yes, I have come to the conclusion that I NEED one of these friends again.

When my mom throws parties, I am that person for her.

In Cleveland, when I threw the few parties that I did, C was that person for me.

But here in Athens, though I am beginning to form some lasting, meaningful friendships, I have not yet found THAT friend.

The one who initiates help because she knows you'll never ask.

And I NEED that friend. Especially today.

Everything is clean in my house except my bedroom, the half bath, and the laundry room. All told, it's probably only 30 minutes or so of work. But I really need a second person their to watch CJ or start on the food. I won't get home until 5:30 or so. The party starts at 7:00.

My goal is to have everything clean or in the oven by 6:30.

Then I can spend the last half hour lighting candles and putting out the hor'deurves.

Still can't decide on a desert though. I'm debating between a peach cobbler or a banana pudding.

Hm.

Maybe I'll make both so that they have a choice. Then I'll be sure to have enough too!

....................

Anyways...

I don't have too much more to say.

I hung my ikea lamps in my room (FINALLY!) and I have to say, I think they look awesome!

I'll try to post a picture here soon.

Well, I hope everyone has a wonderful day!

Some updates would be more than welcome... *hint*hint*


Older // Latest