The Day Before Tomorrow... or something like that

I have another meeting tomorrow at NCWC. This one is with Pastor B.

She said she wants to make sure that I really know that ins and outs of the job before I agree to take it.

I really do want to know what all is going on in that ministry before I start; so I am really glad that we are meeting. But I think the decision has already been made in my heart, and in B's heart.

Strictly speaking about finances, this job is exactly what we need right now. If I took the preschool coordinator's position, I would still have to earn money other ways (i.e. cleaning houses, giving voice lessons, etc.) And none of those other things guarantee a steady income.

In addition to the extra work I would be doing, I also would need to be maxing out my school classes because I would need to make sure that I can graduate before next school year. B starts student teaching in Fall 2008, and I would need a stable income by then.

BUT... with the Children's Pastor job, I would not have to take the "extra" jobs. (And, let me tell you, I would much rather spend an afternoon working in a ministry that I love than working at a stranger's house scrubbing toilets!)

AAAAND... I won't have to take as many classes because this IS my steady income that I will continue to have through next fall. *woot*

So, in all honesty, this is the best job I can think of for finances and time commitments!

PLUS B and I are going to do a lot of it together. About 3 months ago, NCWC started busing in kids from government housing.

I'm sure you all remember me talking about the issues we had in our youth group when COTN started doing that. We lost a bunch of the "church kids" and we really had some discipline issues in the beginning.

BUT... now... at COTN, these are my favorite kids! There has been such a transformation in them!

Still, since NCWC is still in this "transition" phase, I'm not completely confident in my ability to lead those kids. BUT B has a particularly keen sense on how to relate to those kids. They really respect him. And they want his respect. So when he gets onto them (even though he doesn't do it harshly AT ALL) they immediately apologize (most of the time) because they really don't want to disappoint him.

All that to say... for the services where those kids are bused in, B is going to be in there with me ministering.

I haven't talked with him about this yet, but I really think he would do a good job doing some of the lessons too!

So... the money is good... the time commitment is good... ministry with my husband is good...

And then there is what the Lord says.

I think I wrote before about asking Him about this position:

The day that Pastor asked me to take the position, I came to work and sat at my desk and prayed for the Lord to show me His will.

He didn't even answer me.

He just started showing me picture after picture of what I will be doing in the children's ministry there.

It was really exciting.

So... everything is being "checked" off.

It really looks good.

So, unless Pastor B tells me something REALLY surprising, I think this thing will be "official" tomorrow.

Then they have the meeting with the Elders and Deacons to establish my pay.

And I will start next Monday. *woot*

In the meantime... things at work are crazy.

If you saw my desk right now, you would not believe there is any way for me to be leaving on Friday. haha!

But it's an organized mess. And I suppose that's what matters.

Ok... well... speaking of messes... I really need to get back to it!

Lots of love!

Older // Latest