Easter... and all that jazz.

Not too much to report today.

PMSing major.

So, of course, there have been a couple tearful breakdowns during this week of uber stress.

Easter Egg hunt is tomorrow.

And this makes the second week in a row that I have not taken a Thursday "sabbath."

*sigh*

When will I learn?

Everything gets so overwhelming when I don't have a day to "reset" myself.

Still, all of the aforementioned "changes" to our preschool/children/youth ministries are well into their second week and have gone off without a hitch.

I really enjoy having the kindergarten-ers in my class.

And I REALLY enjoy not having sixth graders.

It's not that I don't enjoy middle school.

It's the mix.

6th graders + 1st graders = mass chaos

So for the past two week, my job has been a BREEZE.

It has been really nice.

Except for this stupid Easter Egg hunt.

Do we all remember Mrs.K? The former children's pastor/daughter of the senior pastor/person who really made it difficult for me in the beginning and who turned all the volunteers against me so they quit. Remember her?

Well, I've been trying to build a bridge there.

I've been trying to reach out.

I asked her OVER A MONTH AGO if she would teach kid's church next Sunday since I will be gone.

She has YET to let me know for sure.

Then, I called her TWO WEEKS ago and left a message, asking if she could give me a basic overview of past Easter Egg hunts... so I could know a general idea of what I was in for.

She returned my call YESTERDAY.

Yesterday... two days before the Hunt.

*sigh*

Well... I've done what I could do in that area, and I wash my hands of it.

"If at all possible, pursue peace with all men."

Yes, Lord, I have pursued it. And it ran away from me. So I'm done.

But what that means for me is this...

I have no blueprint.

I have no one to tell me how this has been done in the past.

So I'm forced to do it the way that I see is best.

...and then hear from 100 little kids and their parents, "That's not the way we did it last year!"

*sigh*

It would be one thing if it were something new that they had never done before...

... but everything I do is measured up against the way it has always been done.

And I have no person to guide me, nobody to tell me how it has been done.

In addition to that, I'm not sure I have enough volunteers lined up.

If nothing else, I guess I'll just grab some parents and put them to work.

They should be volunteering anyways.

Oops... time for class.

Sorry to complain so much.

*yawn*

PMS... and all that jazz.


Older // Latest