The RED car

This is one of those entries that could go anywhere because I have no direction in mind from the beginning.

I guess I will start by saying that I think I am FINALLY going to set that doctor's appointment. Things were going a lot better, and I honestly started thinking that maybe it really WAS all in my head.

But these past two weeks have been awful. I'm so very tired. Here is just a sample: Yesterday's schedule:

8am: woke up to get dressed.
9am: arrived at the church for staff meeting (it was cancelled)
10am: arrived back home, put Chloe down for a nap.
10:30am: met new tenant at duplex to sign lease
11am: arrived home, fell asleep on couch.
1:30pm: woke up, got Chloe up and dressed, gave her to Grandpa who came to pick her up for the afternoon. Ate lunch.
2pm: went back to sleep
4pm: woke up, a little woozy
5pm: went to dinner with family at Ryan's
9pm: arrived home, took a long bath.
10:30pm: fell asleep while trying to read

That means in the last 24 hours, I have slept over 12 hours. And I'm still exhausted this morning. I really could go home and take another nap right now.

Instead, I'm nursing my cup of luke-warm coffee (dark roast w/ shot of cinnamon... Mmmm...). And trying to convince myself to go to my next class.

So, I said all that to say this: I really need to schedule that doctor's appointment. Really.

My friend JC has a fabulous OBGYN that she just RAVES about. So I think I'm going to call her to get his name and number.

I really wish I could go to my existing doctor, but (through a series of unfortunate events) I found out that my insurance doesn't cover most of the stuff they do in that office.

Sooo... I have to find a new doctor... and schedule an appointment... and when he asks me what's wrong... I'm supposed to tell him I'm tired... and hormonal.

How lame.

Anyways, that's enough of that.

On a MUCH happier note... that old station wagon that B and I have been driving the past few months broke down TWO DAYS AFTER WE GOT OUR TAX RETURN.

Now, normally, we would not view this as a good thing.

BUT I really hated that car. Not because of the way it looked... or smelled... or drove... but because of the fact that it simply was not reliable. So if I ever had to take CJ somewhere with that car, I spent most of our ride in prayer that it would make it there.

So it finally died.

Just a couple weeks before it died, SS got a new car through Nationwide for a really good deal. Apparently, it's only available to agents, employees, and agent family. But, when the old wagon broke down, I called GB... my old boss.

I asked him if, even though I no longer worked there, he could maybe, possibly, if-it-isn't-much-trouble help me get one of those ultra cheap cars.

He made a couple calls.

Pulled a few strings.

And called me back.

"I'm emailing you the list of available cars" he said. "Just tell me which one you want, and I'll get the paperwork going for you."

So... as of Friday, I will be driving to Duluth to pick up my 2006 Ford Taurus in Metallic Merlot (that's red!).

I'm so very excited about this!

And what I'm even more excited about... the price!

Now, I realize it's not good etiquette to talk about money, but I want to remember how much the Lord is taking care of us!

A 2006 Taurus with this amount of mileage would normally go for $10k-12k.

We're paying $5100.

AND... since our tax return had just come in, we were able to put $1k down.

SOO... since we were only getting a loan for $4100, MM (my step dad) decided he would just put it on his credit card... AND NOT CHARGE US ANY INTEREST!!!

I'm totally stoked!

B decided he wants to drive the SUV, which is fine with me because that means I GET THE NEW CAR!! *woo hoooooo*

I've never driven a car this new in my life! *yay*

I was so excited that I went and bought cleaning and organization stuff for the car -- a basked that will double as a trash can; a big storage container for all my church stuff (since my car often doubles as an on-the-go office); and another container for CJ's stuff (books, sippy cups, dolls, etc.)

Ok... so... that's pretty much all I have to say about that. Let's just leave it at: I'm totally stoked!!

Kid's church is going REALLY well.

My 6th graders have moved up to Youth Group. The Kindergarten Kids have moved up into my class. The bus ministry has stopped (but several of the "good" kids are still being dropped off by their parents).

It's just all-around good stuff. I'm really enjoying it and falling in love with the kids more and more each time.

I can't WAIT until I'm out of school, and all I have to do is be a wife and mom and pastor. THAT will be the best life EVER!

But I refuse to live my life "in waiting." So I'm really trying to enjoy this year... especially since B may be leaving for a year in January 2009.

Yup. Yup. Yup.

I have more to write about, but it's time for my next class.

Toodle Pip.

Older // Latest