And the Korean saga continues...

Not too much time to write b/c church is starting soon. Just thought I'd update you since I talked w/ B on the phone this morning.

He has another meeting with the Pastor tomorrow to "renegotiate" for more money, a plan ticket home once or twice, etc.

If we decide to do this, here's the plan:

B would go up for 1-2 weeks on his own in Jan 09 to get the apartment ready for us.

I would join him mid-January, Chloe in tow. My mom has already decided that she would fly out with me and Chloe so that she can help with Chloe on the plane and so that she can help us get settled into our apartment. B would start work, teaching English to the women and children of the church, 5 days a week. He has to work Saturday and Sunday; so he gets to pick what two days he wants off.

I would not work at all for the first couple months; so that Chloe and I could become acquainted with our new home and with the other women of the apartment complex (most of whom are wives of pastors from the church where B is teaching).

As soon as I start working (assisting B), they would tack an additional $1000 onto our monthly salary (which, quite frankly, is more than I make right now after taxes).

A few of the questions he will ask tomorrow are: more pay? health care? paid vacation? plane tickets home? furnished apartment? AND how many hours will my wife be expected to work?

Because, ya'll, there ain't no way in Heaven or Hell that I'll move to another country, only to leave my baby for 40 hours a week... or even 25.

There are also things we have to discuss when he gets back: Would we sell our duplexes? Or would we pay someone to watch them? Is that really fiscally smart for us? Will we have to pay American taxes for our overseas income?


So, after B and I had discussed all the pros and cons, we decided that (barring any intervention on the Supernatural side) we would not make the decision until he came home and we were able to talk with our accountant.

As I walked down my hallway from the bedroom where I had just had my world flipped around by a phone call from my husband who is in Korea, I prayed, "Lord, I'm really concerned about all the little details."

He said, "You need to be concerned about what I tell you to be concerned about."

I said, "Ok, Lord, what do I need to be concerned about?"

And he said, "Be concerned for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God." (Philippians 4:6)

So I, of course, looked up the message translation of that verse and the one after it:

"Don't fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God's wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It's wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life."

It's wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.

That just needs to be repeated over and over and over and over.

So, that's my goal, even if it's just for today, to let my petitions and praises shape my worries into prayers.

Ya'll, I hope I'm not speaking too soon, but it looks like I'm moving to Korea.

Eeeek!

Older // Latest