Decision, Decision, and a Korean email

I finally got an email from B tonight (it's 9:40 in the morning over there).

He had his job interview, and they definitely want him.

Not only that, they want to hire me too, as his assistant.

But, they are only offering $2000/month ($24,000/year) for him to work, and a little more than that for me to come too.

I really don't think that's enough.

I mean, bottom-rung teachers here in the US make $32k, and math teachers tend to make more.

So, I personally feel like, if we are expected to give up our home and transplant our daughter, to teach for them, then they should be willing to pay AT LEAST what he would be making here.

They have offered to let us live rent-free.

Apparently, the church just built a brand spankin' new building complete with a brand spankin' new apartment complex across the street. That is where we would live.

B said that he was going to get an international calling card when he goes to Seoul tomorrow, and he would call me when he got it. He asked that I be praying about the decision between now and then so that we could discuss it when he calls.

So, in preparation for the discussion, I have prepared some questions.

1. Can he negotiate for more money? Explaining the reasons I listed above, I think asking $3000/month (or at least $2600/month) for his salary alone is reasonable, with all that we would be giving up to move there.

2. Would they provide health care for the three of us? Or even American health insurance?

3. How long would they like us to come? (If it's 6 months or less, I would rather not uproot Chloe; so Brandon could go on his own. If it's more than that, we'll pray about it.)

4. What exactly do they want him to teach? Math? At church?

5. What would my duties be?

Of course, I will start off the conversation being very supportive and excited about the opportunity. I don't want to bog him down with doubts, but I also want him to be able to ask the questions face-to-face while he's there so that the email language barrier won't be a problem.

So... yeah... we'll see what happens. Please continue to pray for both of us as we press in to receive the Lord's guidance.

Older // Latest