A prayer or two for the future...

I got a couple notebooks and some fancy pens last night. S'pose I'll start this weekend... or maybe Monday. Monday is always a good day to start something new. Yup. Yup. Yup.

In other news... my parents talked with me last night about my "future."

Currently, our plan is to return to the states in Summer of 2010. If we come back at that time, my Children's Pastor job will still be available for me to take back over.

My mom had a really hard-core question for me. She said: "Do you really feel called to come back to that position? Or is it just a convenience?"

I couldn't really answer her.

I certainly don't love the job. And that's just it: I see it as a job, not a ministry.

But, what other job can I take where I am able to make $1000/month and still be a SAHM?

Then my mom put M&M on the phone. And he started talking to me about another career option that he's been thinking about for me.

He owns a business that specializes in leadership development and management training for churches, universities, and large businesses. While he is at the top of his game (and in the top of his field), he works with other trainers who are not nearly as experienced or educated as he.

His point was that, if I could come back to the states and finish my degree in International Affairs(of which I am two classes short), I could use his business to "launch" my career in International Business Management Training.

That's a fancy way of saying that I will talk with businesses about cultural differences between the US and Asia and how those differences can help or harm their interactions.

In the past, he didn't think I could do it because of my age and lack of experience.

But since I will have a degree in IR, and since I have lived overseas in an Asian country, and since I will be 26/27 by the time I'm ready to start, I will have the credentials to do it and charge the "standard" fee of $800-$1000 a day.

So, basically, in one day I could make the equivalent of one month's salary at the church.

And because of the type of business it is, I can choose to work 15 days a month or 1 day a month... or no days a month. Plus, once I have gotten into the groove of the training, I will basically be teaching the same thing over and over to different people... so there wouldn't be too much prep time either.

But, honestly, I'm completely intimidated by the thought of "teaching" something to international business people. I'm just not sure I'm capable of doing that sort of thing.

What if I try this and fail? And in the meantime I have gone months without a salary?

The church job seems a lot safer. It's a sure thing. But is it the Lord?

I don't have to make any decisions right now. But it won't hurt to start praying about it now... to start seeking the Lord's will.

But here is what I am thinking: I'm thinking that as soon as we return, I will re-enroll at UGA. While I'm taking my classes and finishing up my degree, I will accompany M&M to his classes in order to get a general idea of what I'm getting into as well as make contacts in that business community. I have a feeling that it will become fairly apparent whether or not this is something I should or could do.

We shall see.

Anyways, it's something to think about...

Older // Latest