Day 4: Stayin' on track.

So far, so good.

I started at 265 pre-pregnancy. As of this morning, I am 255.

Now, I can't say that I am doing anything worthy of losing 10 lbs, and I can't say that I notice a difference anywhere but on the scale.

Last night I ate an entire pint of Baskin Robins all by my lonesome. (*shrugs*)

But, other than that, I have been watching my calories and doing my post-natal pilates video. The pilates video has ZERO cardio, which I'm a little disappointed about. But the ab workout is enough to make me sore the next day; so that's a good thing. The Kegels don't hurt anything either... :) And, nothing in the video puts pressure on those "sensitive" places that really hurt post-delivery. The most difficult part of it is getting up and down on the floor.

After six weeks (or maybe earlier?) I'm going to sneak over to Brandon's office in the education building to start "30-day-shred." My plan is to start July 1, and do it every day until August 1 just to see what kind of a difference it makes. I can't do it in my apartment because of the jumping jacks and jump rope stuff. I don't think Senior Pastor, who lives directly below me, will appreciate me doing that over his head first thing in the morning. Since nobody except Brandon is in the education building during the day, I figure it's a safe place to do my workout video.

I figure an exercise video will be good to start in July because that is the beginning of monsoon season, and I might not be able to do too much outside walking due to rain.

I have been thinking about other potential forms of excersize. One thing I thought I might try is climbing to the top of our prayer tower. It's hundreds of steps to the top. (I'll let you know exactly how many the first time I make it up there.) I thought it might be nice to hike it up those steps in the morning and then have my quiet time up there. It's also another indoor activity that I could do (plus, it will be cool in there during the hottest parts of summer).

We also have a great (albeit short) walking trail that goes around the church, plus about 40 steps that go down into a meditation garden. I would like to get a pedometer to find out exactly how much exercise one loop around the property and one trip up and down those stairs will get me. That's probably my last option (a) because it's really visible, and I'm not sure I want every person in my building to see me in my workout attire, sans makeup, and (b) it will be hot and muggy out there this summer, and finally (c) it will take me a lot more time walking to burn the same number of calories as climbing stairs or doing the video in a shorter amount of time. Did that last point make sense? Oh well, it made sense in my head.


So, things are starting off nicely. I'm not sure how long this high/fast metabolism will last (could it just be post-pregnancy hormones?) so I'm trying to take advantage of it while I can. I'm sure things will plateau at some point, and I'll have to actually start putting some effort into it. I'll let you know when that day hits.

In the meantime, I'm just enjoying the hope and excitement of losing those first 10 lbs.

Older // Latest