Cultural Clashes... yet again

I'm so frustrated this afternoon.

Lord, give me patience and understanding in this place.

This Sunday will be M's first Sunday at church. One of the samonims told me that, after service, B and I should take M to Senior Pastor's (SP's) office so he can pray a blessing over M.

But we can't just go there. We have to talk to our liaison pastor (LP) since he's the only one who speaks English. Then he has to talk with Head Pastor (HP) and get the o.k. from SP before we can go.

Sooo....

B called LP who said he has never heard of such a thing (the blessing from SP) and so we shouldn't worry about it.

But the thing is, LP doesn't have kids; so how does he know what a family is supposed to do when a baby is born?

And the samonim that told me DOES have kids and also hangs out with all the other Samonims (who have kids). So I feel like she knows what she's talking about.

But LP won't risk "losing face" to HP by asking a "stupid question."

So, as a result, we are not going to SP's office on Sunday... which means we will probably offend him..

Dang it!!

How the heck are we supposed to do the culturally correct thing when nobody seems to know what that is? How are we supposed to get to SP's office if our LP isn't willing to set it up for us?

Like I said, I'm really frustrated.

Just needed to vent...

Older // Latest