C'est la vie

I'm feeling discouraged tonight.

Not one item has sold. I'm googling things like "How to succeed on e*sy" or "How to take better pictures for e*sy."

B totaled up my business expenses thus far. Even if I sold everything I've made, it wouldn't be enough to cover what I have already invested.

Granted, I bought some items that are one-time expenses. Scissors, cutting mats, etc.

Still, not one item has sold.

And I wonder if I have gone the wrong direction. I wonder if I jumped into this with both eyes closed, not really consulting the Lord.

The truth is that I LOVED doing my art. Really.

There were some pieces that weren't "me," but I was okay with that.

I had a couple 20-hour days during the process. I was stressed. I was exhausted. My fingers were blistered, and my shoulders were cramping.

But I can say with complete honesty that even my worst days working on my art were better than my best days at BS inc.[the place that fired me].

I don't struggle to find my identity. I don't wonder what people think about me (or my art, really).

It gives me confidence. Accomplishment.
Fulfillment.

I would be willing and excited to do this work for free. To make stuff to GIVE away. I love it that much.

But I can't work for free. We need money.

God knows where we are. He is our provider, not my art. But it sure would be nice to sell something.

I'm going to start on the peacock painting next week, I hope. In the meantime, I will continue to think of new creative (and cheap or free) ideas to sell.

C'est la vie.

Older // Latest