2 dreams about rent.

I have had two strange dreams in the last week that keep bugging me.

In the first one, we had been forced out of our home for some reason, and we were living at a friend's house.

The friend was away or hadn't moved into their own house yet; so we were squatting with permission. We couldn't unpack any of our things because we didn't know how long we would be staying.

Then the owner of the house walked in with a large group of friends and looked surprised to find us there, like he had forgotten that he had given us permission to stay there.

He apologized profusely, but told us we had to get out because his friends were moving in (or coming to visit?) and he needed the space for paying tenants.

I kept saying, "That's no problem. We just appreciate you letting us stay here. Can you give me a few minutes to get packed up?"

He looked like he felt really bad that we had to get out, and I kept trying to convince him that we were okay.

In reality, we had no idea where we were going. We started aimlessly walking around looking for a house that was for rent.

We walked up on the back porch of one house so that we could look through the back door into the kitchen. We were surprised that there was a woman already in there cooking. She looked shocked to see us peeking in her window; so we quickly explained that we thought the house was for rent and we were just looking to see if we wanted it. She said, "Well, it is available, but not for what you're willing to pay."

I knew that we were unable/unwilling to pay that much for rent, but I walked away super offended that she would even assume that.


That's the end of the first dream.

In the second dream, I had just moved into a small studio apartment. There was a sitting area in the lobby of the apartment where all the other tenants would sit and talk. They were all retired old people, and I was the only young one in the building.

The apartment was all chippy paint, stained teal. Very old. Very dirty.

I walked into my apartment and realized that someone had taken something that belonged to me (can't remember what the object was now).

Later, I walked in a second time and realized they had stolen the inside components of my oven and my dining room table. I also realized that the reason they had been able to steal from me was because I had left the door unlocked.

I said something to the other tenants, and they all nodded like it had happened to them and said, "Yep. That's what happens when you don't lock your doors around here."

The next time I walked in, there was a group of people my age setting up house here. As soon as they saw me, they were like, "Oh, is this your apartment?"

I said, "Yes" but they kept moving in anyways. They knew exactly where everything was, and they even had their own "spots" that they liked to sit or put their stuff. It was as if I was actually living in their apartment, not the other way around. At first it was awkward, but then I started to appreciate having people around like myself. They were very accepting of me and made me feel like I was already part of their group.

I called my mom and told her that I was excited to have the new people there, and I was inspired to start decorating my apartment (something I had never wanted to do before b/c it was so dirty and old.) When I walked back in from talking on the phone outside, I saw that one of the girls (a girl I know from L church and DR) had started sketching a mural on my kitchen wall. At first, I was upset that no one had consulted me before they started. But almost immediately I felt a wash of gratitude that someone else was making our apartment more beautiful and that I would not be doing it all by myself.

The end.

Decipher that, yo.

Older // Latest