-

2005-07-25 - 9:26 a.m.

*whew* What a weekend. I directed my first wedding, and boy was it hectic! The groom is the youngest of seven brothers, all of which were in the wedding. *man* I'm glad it's over.

I can't believe what happened at the rehearsal dinner, though. Okay, so I went shopping the night before. Took me four hours to find the perfect outfit for a "wedding coordinator." I was so excited that I wore it to work the day of the rehearsal so I wouldn't have to change.

I get to the church... and the bride is wearing the exact same outfit. *gasp* I had to run to my dad's house and borrow a shirt from my step-mom. The thing is, I was wearing a flesh-colored tank with built-in bra, so it looked like I had nothing on under the sheer shirt she let me borrow. So there I was, in front of all the sanctuary lights, before all those brothers of the groom, looking like I had nothing on. Let me tell you, it was NOT the highlight of my weekend.

Anyway, life goes on, I suppose.

I spent all of last evening cleaning house. I went to church, came home and took a 3-hour nap. (I needed it after the wedding). And then I got up and cleaned. I'm going to have to do it tonight also. *sigh* I feel like that is all I do.

I get up in the morning and go to work.
I get home from work and make dinner for whoever happens to be there (usually my husband and several of his friends).
I clean up from dinner.
I do a load of laundry.
I pick up around the house, and usually have to vacuum because of my shedding dog.

Then, lo and behold, it's time for bed.

That is my day. There has got to be a better way to get all this housework done.

Well, right now is probably worse than it will be in the future because I am still cleaning out closets and drawers and what-not. Maybe once all the clutter is gone and the organization finished, I will be more able to keep the house clean.

I suppose I should clarify... it's not that my husband isn't willing to help with the housework. It's just that he doesn't do a good job when he does help. I mean, he does his best, but his mom always did all the housework in his family's home. So he is a little bit clueless.

I can't say to him, "Clean the kitchen." I have to leave a list.

1.) Put away clean dishes.
2.) Wash, dry, and put away dirty dishes.
3.) Wipe off all countertops, the stove, and the kitchen table.
4.) Sweep the floor (even under the table).
5.) Take out the trash.

So, if I don't have time to sit down and write out a detailed list, I just leave it. "I'll clean it when I get home from work."

*Sigh* He is a wonderful husband, and I'm not being sarcastic. He loves me, I know. I'm really not upset with him. I'm more upset with how messy the house gets. It is both of our faults that it gets so messy. I'm just usually the one who has to clean it up. That gets tiring. BUT! Proverbs 31 - I've got to be a good wife. It's part of my job description. =)

I think I need to pray about my attitude towards house work. Maybe the Lord can give me some supernatural revelation about it. That would be nice. I think I will pray about it.

I am doing well on my diet so far today. Haha! It's only 9:45am, but it's a start. I had some cherries, strawberries, and a nectarine for breakfast. Mmmmm... I'm going to my mom's for lunch, though. She always has really fattening food there. "self-control" - I pray I get some between now and then.

Whoever is reading this diary out there in cyberspace must be thinking, "Aww... poor overweight unhappy desperate housewife." Haha! It's really not all that bad. I am generally happy with life. I just don't really want to vent this stuff to any person, so I vent here. It's therapudic. Thanks for listing to my ranting and raving.

Blessings!

Older // Latest