J.J. and Human Error

I am so very tired today. The new dog is driving me crazy. Finally, Brandon agreed with me that we need to lock Pip up in the bathroom at night. *sigh* Maybe we'll sleep through the night tonight.

I have three exams in one week's time. Too much. Too much.

But, I am really excited about youth group tonight. During my time with the Lord last night, the Holy Spirit told me that there is a spirit of distraction in the youth group, and that is why the messages are not getting through to the kids.

So... you know me... I was ready to march down to that youth room today and pray the hell out of that spirit. But... the Holy Spirit stopped me. He said that the way to combat a spirit of distraction is NOT with more noise and more disruption/distraction. The way to combat a spirit of distraction is with a Spirit of peace. He told me to go in early today, and to quietly pray over the room. To pray for peace... for stillness. "Be still and know that I am God."

As he was telling me this, I was listening to the worship song, "There is a sweet annointing in this sanctuary. There is a stillness in the atmosphere. Come and lay down the burdens you have carried, for in this sanctuary, God is here."

As I was singing it, He was showing me the youth room. I began to sing it over the room.

Finally, He began to show me individual faces of the kids. One in particular stood out - a kid named J.J. He's a funny one (and I don't mean funny ha ha). He really seems to be searching - looking for something in the church. He shows up regularly, and is one of the few that actually seems to desire to learn. BUT when his friend(s) come to church, J.J. is the most disruptive one there. I don't understand.

All that the Lord showed me was a picture of J.J. standing there, and God laying his hand on J.J.'s shoulder, as if to say, "My hand is on his life."

So I spent several minutes praying specifically for J.J. as well as a few others.

Also, over the last several days, the Lord has laid BJ on my heart. He told me to write him a letter with a message from God in it.

This made me really nervous. I mean, the Lord tells me things about people all the time... usually so that I know how to pray for them. But this is the first time, that I can remember, that he has told me to tell the person. So... I wrote the letter. But at the end of it, I said, "Please know that I am new to this whole words-of-wisdom thing; so if any of this doesn't ring true, chalk it up to human error."

I hope that saying that didn't undermine the message. I just don't want him to get confused if I was saying something that wasn't God.

I feel bad. I probably shouldn't have added that last part. Oh well... chalk it up to human error, right?

Older // Latest