The Lord's Voice

Work is crazy today. So while I'm waiting on some follow-up phone calls, I thought I would go ahead and update.

Like I said in previous entry, Jen came over last night. Before we started excersizing, she said, "I really need prayer about... I'm really stressing about it, and I wish I could just stop wanting it... I don't know what the Lord is doing here, and it's really stressing me out."

So I prayed for her.

It was very different, and very encouraging. I was silent to begin with, so that I could "tune in" to the Holy Spirit. This was honestly very nerve-wracking (sp?) considering my usual habit of jumping right into warrior-style prayer. It was similar to standing on stage and saying absolutely nothing... scary.

Anyways... so I prayed for her... and then I listened again.

First, the Lord brought a scripture verse to mind. So I told Jen...

"Be anxious for nothing, but in everything through prayer and supplication, let your requests be made known unto God."

And then I heard the Lord telling me something... and I doubted the Lord's voice... and He got onto me... and so I spoke what I heard Him saying...

"Ask anything of me. Ask ANYTHING of me. For you are my daughter, and I give only good gifts. So don't be afraid to ask ANYTHING of me."

To me, this made very little sense, considering what we were praying for.

But when I finished praying, I looked up, and she was crying.

She said, "I have a question. Do you think that when I ask the Lord for something, He knows that I always want His will over mine? That just because I ask for it doesn't mean that I want that more than what He wants for me?"

Then it became clear.

I said, "Yes. That is what the Lord was telling you. Don't be afraid to ask for ANYTHING. He knows what's best for you, and He will only give you good gifts. In other words, if you ask for something that is going to be bad for you, He simply won't give it to you. So don't be afraid to ask for ANYTHING."

She seemed really relieved and said that she had been worrying about that for a while.

So, through baby steps, the Lord is answering my prayer.

Since the first Starlite retreat I went on, I have been asking the Lord for the same giftings that Ms.S has. I want to hear the Lord very clearly... in conversational style. And I want Him to use me to speak into people's lives. I want to know how to pray for somebody, and I want the Lord to speak through me like He does through Ms.S. I can't say how many times I have prayed this... it's in the 100's.

And I do feel like these past few months of trials and battles have FORCED me to press in to hear God's voice. I couldn't afford to doubt it during those times because they were my life force.

So, I think last night gave me a glimpse into the purpose for those trials. I hear Him more clearly now than ever, and He has built my faith enough so that I don't shy away from speaking His word out.

"Speak forth in boldness."

He gave me this instruction over and over and over again many many years ago when he took me into the Heavenly realm... that's another entry all unto itself. Perhaps I will write about that night soon.

Anyways, last night left me as encouraged as Jen, I think. It's always cool to see the Lord working things for my good. I love it!

Okay... well... I just got the phone calls I was waiting for; so I'm off to finish my job.

Happy Turkey Week!

Older // Latest