The Proposal and Turkey Week

It is friggin' cold outside! *brrrrrrr*

I got out of class early... that is always fun. This time in the semester is always so very stressful, that it is nice to have even the smallest of breaks.

Speaking of breaks...


THANKSGIVING!!!!!!!!

*WOOT*

It seriously is one of my favorite holidays. I mean, what's better than bundling up and heading down the road to eat with family. There isn't the stress that comes with giving and receiving gifts, and family feels a little warmer compared to the chill in the air outside.

I love it.

Work was friggin' awesome yesterday!!! (Is that the second time I said "friggin"? Sorry, folks)

I am constantly worried that my boss doesn't value what I do. I mean, it's not that I need him to validate my existence by telling me what a great worker I am. He doesn't have to say anything to me. But I want him to appreciate what I do... for job security... for a bargaining position... for future promotions... does that make sense?

I'm mortally terrified of walking into his office in May to ask for a raise and hearing, "Well, I really don't see why what you do is worth a raise. Are you really making a difference here? How are you helping us grow? Why do YOU deserve a raise?"

I want to work in such a way that he doesn't even have to ask those questions.

Yesterday was exactly what I wanted.

We had a HUGE proposal going out. It was mainly my baby. GB brought the business in, but I processed the quote and prepared the proposal.

I worked my butt off... for days... to get this thing ready.

The quote was perfect. I had an underwriter check it twice. I buttered up another underwriter so we could get some credits... this saved the client nearly $3,000.

I put it in a folder, with a kick-arse cover sheet. I stapled GB's business card to the bottom corner of the second page. I lined the pages up perfectly. I put a manilla envelope in the back and stuffed it with all sorts of flyers that talk about the benefits of working with my company. I put a breakdown of the premium in there via a spreadsheet. I did an explanation of coverage.

I mean, seriously, this was like the best proposal I've ever done.

And my boss sat there and watched me put it together.

He was so excited, "This looks great! I'm going to run it over to him right now!"

And, for once, JS (my coworker) was too busy to hover around and steal GB's attention away.

I need him to recognize my work... It's necessary for my career... and yesterday was a start.

Anyways. I do have to be careful not to become to prideful about this. The first prophecy that Ms.S spoke over me included this: "Trust in Me, and *I* will promote you, and people will see that it is Me who is doing this."

If I get promoted, it will be the Lord. I recognize that. But that doesn't mean I shouldn't do my best anyways. "As unto the Lord... right?"

I think I need to pray and make sure that it is unto the Lord, and not unto man.

Hm.

Regardless, it was a good day. Thanks, Lord, for the opportunity.

Class starts in 20 minutes.

I'm so not motivated.

Thanksgiving!!!!!

*woot*

bye!

Older // Latest