Wint'ry Mix

What a contradiction mother nature is.

A conundrum of juxtaposing emotions and feelings.

"It's nasty out there today," the shivering custodian commented to me in the elevator.

"It sure is," I agreed.

But now, only a couple minutes later, I sit by this window and look out at the ice-laden trees, the "wintry mix" of snow, sleet, and rain, the colorful umbrellas and the slow-moving cars. I finish my last couple sips of french vanilla coffee, and I think to myself, "Is it really all that nasty?"

I realize I am inside, where the building's heater is humming on every floor, and the flow of warm air circulates around my computer.

Still, there is something mystical about the look of nature today. Like an old debutante, remembering all her summer green, pondering the applause of the crunching leaves under students' feet in the fall, and reminding herself to enjoy the attention of the diamond-like icicles that adorn her garment. This too shall pass, and another season shall come. She is all too familiar with the seasons that will change her very nature.

But today, students shiver as they pass her by. They stare in awe and in dismay through the windows of their warmth.

Her hoary branches glisten and droop, contradictions in themselves.

It is a day to contemplate, if nothing else.

_______________________________________

My mom picked me up at my house this morning at took me to school. I jumped in the warm car where she had a chik-fil-a bisquit and a cup of hot coffee for me, and I thought, "I sure hope I'm like her when I have a daughter in college."

She got up at 6am this morning to take my brother to his athlete's study hall (I know, I contradiction in terms). Then she ran by chik-fil-a, came and picked me up, dropped me off at my building, then turned down the road to shuttle my brother from study-hall to his next class. Crazy lady. hehe. She's amazing.

Despite the manipulation and opposing viewpoints, I do love her. And she is always looking for ways to take care of me.

She handed me $10 as I jumped out of the car.

"Get yourself some lunch and another coffee."

"Thanks, mom, but that will only cost me $3."

"Well, on a day like today, you deserve a specialty coffee. Get a mocha or a latte or whatever it is you kids drink these days."

She's incredible.

_____________________________________

I missed C the other night when she called. I'll try to call her back again tonight, but I know she's back in Cleveland for J's graduation.

She sounded stressed when I talked with her.

Lord, please let Memphis be all of the good she wanted, none of the bad she dreaded, and more than she ever expected.

____________________________________

Three exams down, and one to go.

3pm today I will take my last exam of the semester. I'm stoked!

Haven't even started studying for it, but I don't think it is going to be that bad.

It could be the fact that I have actually studied for them all, but it seems to me that the finals have been comparatively much LESS difficult than the actual chapter tests I've taken all semester. For each one, I thought, "If the rest of the exams in this class had been this simple, I would have an 'A' for sure!"

Alas, B's and C's.

Hm.

____________________________________

I suppose that's all for me now. I feel like so much has happened, but I can't seem to find anything else to say at the moment.

I think I'm pregnant.

But that's not news, right?

Every month.

Day 32.

*garsh*

Aunt Flow is such a royal b**** sometimes.

I wish she was the diva she claims to be.

Then, the next time she showed up late, I'd fire her!!!

Oh well. That's life I suppose.

I think I'm dehydrated.

Sorry... randomness, I know.

I'm leaving now.

Older // Latest