The Three of Us

Feeling a little better today. My brain is still a bit foggy.

Fever broke around 3am this morning.

Needless to say, it was one of the worst nights of sleep I have had in a while.

However, I did make it without any medicine.

And as I was drifting off to sleep last night... something different happened...

I was praying for my sickness. I knew I HAD to come to work today, and I also knew that I COULDN'T come if I still had the fever. They would tell me not to breathe on anybody and send me home.

So I was praying for the Lord to heal me.

Then, as a result of some tapes I have been listening to about worship, I began to praise God and thank Him for healing me, as if it had already been done.

I felt myself being engulfed in the Holy Spirit, a feeling I have been void of for several weeks now.

And as I began to pray and praise more fervently... as I began to listen to what He was saying...

...and...

... I began to pray for my baby. I prayed that the fever would not affect it, that the Holy Spirit would put his hands around my baby and shield it from any sickness that was in my body.

Then I began to pray for the protection of my body.

My body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, right? My body is His home and resting place (isn't that what temple means?).

In the same way, my body is the temple of this baby. It's resting place. It's home. It's sole sustainer.

And so I prayed more fervently than ever for the Lord to heal my body and protect me.

And for one of the sweetest moments I have ever experienced, it was just the three of us: the Holy Spirit, me, and the baby.

And we were the only ones that knew about this little life.

I cherished that moment and wanted it to last forever.

But soon enough I drifted into sleep... and the fever finally broke.

____________________________________

This has *almost* happened several times over the last week or so. But I refused to let it happen. I didn't want to get my hopes up, thinking that I heard the Holy Spirit, and then find out that I was completely off.

I am even more hesitant to talk about it today.

I could be wrong, I realize that.

I know it was the Holy Spirit last night. But perhaps he was just preparing me for some future baby...

Somehow, I don't think so.

Still, I won't tell anybody about it.

I will wait until the test comes back positive... until the doctor confirms it.


I have misunderstood the ministry of the Holy Spirit before. Perhaps this is yet another misunderstanding.

Whatever it was, I will never forget my precious secret that I shared with Him last night.

And somehow, I'm glad the test was negative.

Otherwise, I would never have had a night like that.

Hm.

Maybe it was just the fever talking.

Then again, maybe not.

Older // Latest