The Job Discussion...

Well, I figured it would happen.

I suppose I'll start looking for another job.

GB keeps saying how much he needs somebody to come in and work full-time to handle all our huge Zaxby's accounts that we'll be getting this year.

He keeps asking when I think I will be full-time.

I keep saying I don't know, but that it won't be this year.

Then he doesn't talk to me the rest of the day.

So, after lunch today, I decided I couldn't take it any more.

I knocked on his office door, and went in.

"Do I need to start looking for another job?"

"What makes you think that?"

"You keep telling me how you need someone full time because of these big accounts that are coming in. It sounds like you need to find someone full-time by the end of the year. I'm not that person."

"Do you feel like you have enough time now to do what needs to be done?"

"I don't feel like the customers are unhappy. I'm getting the service work done. But I haven't filed since August because I've been so busy."

"Well, if someone new comes on board, I would have to train them before they could start servicing the new policies."

"That's why I think I should start looking for another job now, so by the end of the year, your new girl will be ready to handle the big loads."

"We'll committ it to prayer."

"Okay."

And I left.

There were a few other comments mixed in there... I said something about how I can't manage the pressure of constantly feeling like I'm not working enough for this job... and somewhere else may require less time.

He didn't understand why I felt so pressured.

So, there we go. I said it. He said it.

I'm at least going to start looking.

There is a PT clerical position open: $10/hr.

Maybe I'll call.

Hm.

We'll see I suppose.

We'll see what the Lord has in store.

Older // Latest