24-hours to go and I can't stop smiling

24 Hours to go before my first ultrasound!

*woot*

I'm tired today... well... always, I suppose.

At least I'm getting a good bit done at work.

My mom was amazing this weekend. She came over on Saturday to help me clean my house. But she ended up giving me a check and saying, "Go buy some maternity jeans, and I'll work on your house while you're gone."

When I got back, the entire house was done... laundry and all.

How awesome is that?!

Then Sunday, we talked with my in-laws about the possibility (great possibility) of me not working here any more once the baby comes.

And they offered and very tempting proposition...

They are looking at buying a house out in Oconee Co. (where B wants to teach) that has a basement apartment.

Now, I have SEEN so-called "basement apartments" in college towns, and they are no more than cinder-block walls with a sink and a toilet.

No, thank you.

But then they started telling us about it:

Completely finished. Same square footage as the main level of the house. 2 bedroom, living room, "game room," kitchen - complete with dishwasher and fridge - private drive, private entrance. Mm, hm. They said it's much bigger than where we live now, and we are welcom to move in there!!!

I wasn't positive - living with the in-laws and all.

But then SR (a lady I work with whose husband is my in-law's real estate agent) said this morning that she has seen it, and it is amazing! She said, "Oh, you would have more room than you need! I have goose bumps!"

We could move into the basement and pay very little rent (enough to cover our portion of the utilities, I'm sure). Then we could rent out both sides of the duplex, and that would be extra $$ coming in to supplement my lost income. We could live there a year or so, until B starts teaching. Then, hopefully, we would have saved enough to buy our own little house. =)

The one problem... The in-laws cannot purchase the house until their current home sells. It has been on the market a while and has not sold yet.

So... B and I decided to leave it up to the Lord. If their house sells in time, and they are able to purchase the one with the basement, then we will move there. But we want to move by the first of the summer (or mid-summer at the latest), so we can have the baby room ready before I'm too far along. However, if the Lord does not want us to move there, then don't let their house sell in time.

Simple enough, right?

I really hope it does sell, though. It seems like the PERFECT set-up.

And a DISHWASHER!!! Have mercy!!!! I think I'm more excited about that than I am about anything else! =)

So... that's our next big decision, I suppose. Although, not much of a decision, since we left it up to the Lord.

*yay* for ultrasounds! B is going with me tomorrow, and I am so excited! I'm so curious to see when I'm due. *woot*

I'm thinking about some other things this morning too...

Let's suppose that I'm able to get a job with this medicle transcribing company...

And let's suppose that I can make decent money at it...

And let's suppose the following happens...

Fall 2006 - Baby #1 comes along. We live in basement apartment. I work from home with baby. B continues school and work like normal.

Fall 2007 - B starts student teaching and has to take a different, evening job, to make money. I continue working from home, perhaps picking up a heavier load to help supplement the income. (Baby #1 will be 1 year old).

Fall 2008 - B starts teaching. We start expecting Baby #2. I continue working from home.

Now... all this time, I'm working from home and maintaining a household.

How much easier will SL be for me then? No boss to contend with. No schedule to work around. I will send the kids to grandmother's house when meetings and such are necessary. That's the only "time conflict." And I'm SURE my mom won't see it as a conflict at all. =)

Just random thoughts... who knows what God is really doing.

This time two weeks ago, I was ready to set my career in insurance. Granted, the Lord never specifically told me that. I just assumed that was where he was taking me.

But who knows where we're headed now.

It's so exciting to be so completely unsure about my future. I know that sounds silly, but I can't wait so see what God has in store.

I have such a peace about the entire situation. I know it's His timing for this little baby to come, and I know He never orders something He won't pay for, right? Right! =)

I find, though, that I can't look too far into the future. That is where I begin to become overwhelmed. To the end of this year is about as far as my mind will let me go in detail.

Mainly, I want a healthy child, a happy marriage, and time to go visit friends in Cleveland and Memphis. Those are my primary wishes right now.

However the Lord can achieve those - that's what I want.

Bottom line though - God know's what He's doing, much more than I do. I can only see a small portion of the LARGE canvas he has painted for our lives. So I'll let Him take charge.

It's a relieving thought.

I really want to go to Memphis this weekend... maybe I'll quit work NOW.

How does that sound, Lord?

No?

*darn*

Older // Latest