Just another step

I feel as though we've reached a new point in our relationship.

A "lover's spat," shall we say?

He said I shouldn't have done it.

I said he was acting like a baby about it.

He said I acted out of order.

I said he overreacted. Period.

And we were silent, the entire way back.

For 20 minutes or so... we didn't talk.

I was determined not to apologize because I was not wrong.

Apparently, he was thinking the same thing about himself.

So we got home.

I said, "Give it to me, I'll 'fix' it."

He did. And rolled his eyes.

Another 10 minutes or so lapsed.

Finally, I said, "Well, its apparent that neither one of us are going to apologize. So we might as well just get over it and be nice."

He said, "I am being nice."

I said, "Okay... me too."

And then he kissed me.

And not just a peck either...

It was soft and sweet and long and passionate and romantic...

Because it wasn't even worth fighting over in the first place.

Childish, really.

So, for possibly the first time in our relationship... the molehill stayed a molehill... and didn't morph into an insurmountable volcanic mountain.

And that shows great progress, if I do say so myself.

Older // Latest