Wed-Nes-Day... errrr.... something like that.

Well, ladies and gentlemen, I have no excuse for the lack of updates this week. I have been working full-time and have had plenty of opportunities.

I just couldn't think of anything to write about.

Fathers Day weekend was good. VERY BUSY. But good.

Since having the dream about my dad, I have had a new outlook on my relationship with him. I feel closer to him, somehow. At the same time, I feel so much more burdened about the fact that he is not a Christian.

We spent the night at the lake with him Saturday night. He is such a good grandfather, or "papa" as the kids call him... or will call him.

He looks like a papa. And he sounds like one.

He was holding CJ. She would grab his nose or make a funny face or "sing" to him... and he would smile and laugh. His laugh even sounded like a "papa" laugh. It's low and jolly... a little like santa clause... "hoh hoh hoh hmm"

Anyways... it was a really good time.

Saturday was B's birthday party. Blah. I had a disaster with the cake that I don't even care to talk about right now. Lets just say there was a "melt-down" with the ice cream cake.

Yeah.

Sunday was church and lunch with MM and family, then swimming with FIL and family.

Busy. Busy. Busy.

..................

I am working full-time three days this week. Then I have tomorrow off, and I'm back here at noon on Friday. Yup. Yup.

..................

Speaking of work, I posted an add on craigslist.com advertising "household help."

My MIL cleans houses, and she get paid about $50 a house. B and I decided that if I can make $100/week while I'm in school, then we would be "comfortable" rather than barely making it.

Sooo... I need to find 2-3 houses per week that I can clean.

I also advertised that I can run errands (grocery shopping, etc) and babysit, for the right price.

I have received two responses. Both of them are from people claiming to be in Africa right now. One of them lives there, but is coming here for a three-month vacation. The other one has been visiting there and is coming home. Both of them want me to get their property ready before they arrive, including cutting the grass, stocking up on groceries, and arranging for childcare once they arrive.

Hm.

I responded to both of them.

But I'm suspicious.

Their stories were too much alike, ya know?

So, if I do end up going out to one of their properties, I will probably take B with me the first time, just to make sure I'm not walking into a dangerous situation.

Anyways, please be praying that the Lord hooks me up with just the right person and household. I really feel like this is a job I could be good at (believe it or not, I actually enjoy cleaning OTHER people's houses). But I want to find exactly where I am supposed to be.

....................

In other news, there has been a new development in our church situation.

B and I both really love NCWC, and we could definitely see ourselves fully committing to that church. HOWEVER, there is NO ministry for the young married couples. There is a "college and careers" class in which no one is in college or has a career. They are the "troubled young adults" of the church.

The sad part is that there are SO MANY young married or almost married couple in that church.

I have been feeling for a while that "somebody" should start something there. It has been suggested that we do it, but quit honestly, I feel that we are WAY under qualified to LEAD a group of married couples. We have FAR too much to learn, ourselves.

Nevertheless, it has been on my heart for a couple months now.

So, yesterday during my LAST counseling appointment (yay! for me!) she was asking me about our church decision.

I told her NCWC was awesome, but that it needed a group. And she said, "Well, why don't you start one?"

I said, "We're not qualified to lead a group like that. YOU know as well as anyone."

She said, "Well, you don't have to TEACH. It can be more of a fellowship/discussion type class. Because you know that if you guys are feeling alienated in that church, then the other couples are too. This would at least give you all an opportunity to meet and hang out."

Hmmm....

So, at the softball game last night, Nelle was there. (She is also the pastor's granddaughter and really good friends with the associate pastor.) I said to her, "How do you think it would be received if B and I started a young couples class?"

She lifted her hands and shouted, "Hallelujah!" She said that she and Pastor B (the female associate pastor) had just been talking about it. They were saying how much they NEEDED a group like that, but nobody was stepping up to the plate. They had been praying for a couple who A) love the Lord, B) never been divorced, C) new how to lead a small group.

So I said to Nelle, "I've been thinking about it for a while, but I just don't feel like we're qualified. But you know what they say... God doesn't call the qualified; He qualifies the called."

She about jumped out of her seat!

She said, "Were you at church on Sunday?!"

I said, "Not your church."

She said, "That is EXACTLY what our sermon was about on Sunday! Those exact words! I can't believe you just said that!!!"

So... I told her that I would have to talk with B, and that she shouldn't expect anything immediately because I was going to let B take the initiative on this.

I talked with him about it after we got home last night, and his response was expected: "I just feel like we have enough on our plates right now. I mean, we can't even keep our home organized, how are we going to organize something like this?"

So I said, "Well, just pray about it."

He said, "okay."

I DO NOT want to take charge here. I want to support HIM in taking charge, ya know?

I really think this could be good training ground for BOTH of us regarding our future ministry.

He will be in training about how to lead.

I will be in training about how to follow.

Those two things have been reversed in the past, for us. But I really feel like God is wanting to use this to teach us how to be in ministry TOGETHER as a married couple... in COVENANT.

So, again, please be praying that B will hear God's voice about this and that I will support B the way I am supposed to.

I'm really excited about what the Lord is going to do! *woot* Even if it takes a while.

..................

Well, I guess that's all I have to talk about today.

My baby is away at camp with my mom this week (family tradition). I'm really excited that I get to go up and see her tomorrow and take her on her first trip to Babyland General (another family tradition).

I'll tell you all about it on Friday!

*mwah*

Older // Latest