Anne Shirley comes to Georgia

It's 1:30am, and I really should be in bed.

But I just wanted to say this now, while it's fresh on my heart.

I have really only had one friend in my life whom I would can a "covenant" friend.

I have had lots of friends that I am close to. And lots of friends that have come and gone.

But I really think that very few people experience a "covenant" relationship... or what Anne Shirley (from Anne of Green Gables) would have called a "Bosom Buddy."

I have been so blessed, and so honored to have such a relationship in my life.

But I have struggled here in Athens, so many miles away from that relationship.

I don't make close friends very easily.

I think I have too many walls... or not enough time to invest... or something.

This has been a constant plea of my heart, here in Athens, to have another covenant friendship with a godly young woman who is walking along the same path I am.

I have asked the Lord for this, almost daily.

And for three years, that prayer has gone unanswered.

But tonight, for no reason in particular, I really feel like the Lord could be answering that prayer.

Oddly enough, her name is Anna.

Like Anne Shirley.

While NOBODY could EVER replace my dearest covenant friendship, this relationship is like a fresh breeze in a Georgia August.

I am grateful tonight.

Grateful for the hope of something new.

Grateful for answered prayers.

Older // Latest