South Korea seed... sprouting?

So, the last time I wrote about the whole South Korean thing, it was simply a whim and an interesting conversation. At the end of said conversation, I stated to SS, "Well, see if KB (my friend who has been working with this S.Korean ministry) can get us some information. We wouldn't mind looking at it."

That was eight days ago. During the past eight days, heaven and earth has moved for us.

Ok.

Maybe it's not quite that dramatic. But it seems that way.

SS came over on Monday with a large packet of books, magazines, pamphlets, DVD's, etc. from Pastor Yi.

Apparently, he is the pastor of the largest church/ministry in South Korea.

B and I spent a couple hours that evening going through the information.

The next day, we received an email from KB asking about B's credentials. She basically said: Where is his degree from? What field is it in? When will he want to start?

I said: UGA, Math Ed, anytime after Graduation.

We received an email directly from one of the church's workers tonight:

"Can you send me a copy of your resume? Can you start work in Korea in January 2009? Can you come to Korea with KB and her family to have an interview with a church workman from June 13th to July 1st (2008)?"

Yeah.

So.

We still have questions -- mainly about finances.

B's email response will probably be a more eloquent version of this:

"Here is my resume. I will be able to start in January, contingent upon further details(i.e. salary, insurance, room and board, flights, etc.) Those dates are fine for me, if you are paying for the flight." (Round-trip flights cost almost $2,000 for that part of the world.)

So. Yeah.

What has really struck me about this whole thing is this: we have not pursued anything. We're just walking through open doors:

1a. SS came to US to see if we were interested.
1b. We said we were.

2a.KB emailed US to ask the details of B's education.
2b. We responded.

3a. The ministry contacted US to offer B the job.
3b. We will walk through that door too.

We have not made one phone call or initiated one email. Yet, here is this amazing offer/opportunity laid before our feet.

Our main prayer right now is that the Lord will SLAM THIS DOOR IN OUR FACES if it is not what He wants for us.

And that He will continue to open the right doors if it is where He wants B.

So far, it has fallen in our laps without any effort on our part.

We'll see what happens next.

I think our next step is this:

1.) Send a resume to the church.
2.) Begin to compile a list of "requests" from the church, including, but not limited to...

1.) salary
2.) room and board
3.) insurance
4.) airline flights (To Korea in January, home again at the end of the school year, and one or two round trips to and from the U.S.A. while he's there.)
5.) year-end bonus

We have looked into all these things briefly when B was considering doing this through UGA. We know that most, if not all, of these things can be negotiated with the schools over there, and we want to make sure they know what we are asking and we know what they're offering before we take this too much farther.

One thing that I am deciding right now is that I WILL NOT get into all the little details (where CJ and I will live, how much I'll miss B, etc.) until we KNOW that he is going.

I cannot go to that place right now. Not yet.

Because, lets face it, the Lord is not going to do this awesome thing for B and then leave me hangin' with no place to live. God has always been so good to me and so good to provide all of my needs.

That's why I'm not going there - to "that" place.

Because why should I worry about it now when the Lord will provide it in His timing?

What I can say is that I am VERY excited about this opportunity for B - for more reasons than one.

But I'll save all that for another entry too -- when we know more information.

So, I am IMPLORING my dear readers to please pray for us during this time. We have a very short amount of time to decide how serious we are about this. If B is leaving in June, we need to purchase tickets... yesterday.

But we're not rushing ourselves because God is provide what we need in his timing.

So.

That's it.

Please pray.

We need wisdom and guidance.

Here are a few prayer points:

1. That the Lord will close this door if it is not His will.

2. That the Lord will continue to open doors and continue to give us peace and excitement about this transition.

3. That we will have wisdom and favor as we begin the (financial) negotiation process with the church.

4. That the works of the Devil will not interfere with what God has planned for us.

Older // Latest