Wedding Dream - 1

I had a dream last night that has been weighing heavy on my heart today.

No idea what it means, but I am pretty sure it was from the Lord. It went something like this:

The dream starts off in the gymnasium of COTN. There are tables set up with white and red? tablecloths and hanging paper lanterns. I am there with my bridesmaids who are dressed in pink, and we are waiting for my wedding to begin.

While we are waiting, we start talking about the fact that the church is haunted. While we never use that word, we are discussing the fact that there are ghosts in the building. At this point, none of us seem to be afraid of them, and I never actually see one. We are just talking about them as if they are normal, but a little bit scary.

The next scene, I'm sitting in the sanctuary of the church still waiting for the wedding to start. Some people are on stage taking pictures, but I am just sitting on the pew. One of my bridesmaids, Ruth, comes up to me and says, "A couple of us have had a bad experience at previous weddings. Is there somewhere we can go during the ceremony if this happens?"

I knew what she meant was that she might become over-emotional and not be able to stand on stage any more. She would need a place to go cry and regather herself.

I pointed her to the sound/media room that is right next to the stage.

She said, "Well, I'm not sure if that will work. We really need a room with a bathroom in it."

I said, "I can't help you with that right now. You will just have to figure it out. I just can't do it."

I remember thinking, "This is my wedding day, I can't be bothered with stuff like that!"

The next scene, I am standing up on the stage saying my wedding vows to B. P.Beth is our officiating pastor. I say my vows and then walk off the stage back towards the bathroom.

As I walk out the door of the sanctuary, a girl named Jessica is standing in the doorway with a white frilly dress on very similar to mine. I remember thinking, "How DARE she wear that to my wedding!"

My mom is waiting in the hallway between the sanctuary and the bathroom.

She says something to the effect of "I always feel uneasy coming out here without anybody here, what with all the ghosts around."

Once again, I am not phased by the "ghosts" and I tell her that it will be fine.

We both walk into the bathroom and begin to rehash the ceremony, talking about who was there and all that.

Suddenly, I realize that the wedding wasn't over! B never said his vows! And I just walked off the stage and left him there!

I ran back down the hallway. I can see through the sanctuary windows that people were standing up to come look for me.

I ran back up on stage to find my cousin (Lauren or Brook, I'm not sure which) talking with B. She looks at me and says jokingly, "Well, since you walked off, we decided we're together."

The two of them began to walk arm-and-arm off the stage. I knew they were joking, but I remember thinking as I'm standing on stage watching them walk off, "What an inappropriate joke."

Finally, B and I are back on stage in from of the pastor. Only, this time it's Pat Robertson, not P.Beth who is officiating. He makes me and B hug, and when we do, I whisper in B's ear, "I'm sorry. I was sick."

Suddenly, it's like a light bulb turned on over his head, and he completely understood why I had left him at the altar.

The dream ends with B and I embracing. I had one arm around his waist, and my other hand in his. I was lying my head on his chest. Pat Robertson had one arm around B on the other side, and had his hand holding my and B's hand together.

(I'm not sure if that just made sense, but I can see it in my head.)

I'm not sure what all this means, and I don't think I'm going to try to figure it out tonight.

When I woke up, I did have an overwhelming sense that the names in the dream were important. Most of the people in the dream (Ruth, Lauren, Brook, Jessica) are barely acquaintances and Pat Robertson I hardly know anything about other than he is a televangelist.

But this morning when I woke up, I felt an overwhelming sense that it wasn't the people that were so important - it was their names.

For that reason, I am posting the meanings of the names below:

Ruth: Friend, Companion

Lauren: the bay, or the laurel plant (Bay Laurel is the source of the bay leaves which are used for their flavour in cooking. It was also the source of the laurel wreath of ancient Greece, and therefore the expression of "resting on one's laurels". A wreath of bay laurels was given as the prize at the Pythian Games because the games were in honor of Apollo and the laurel was one of his symbols ever since his unsuccessful pursuit of Daphne. In the Bible, the sweet-bay is often an emblem of prosperity and fame. In Christianity it is said to symbolize the Resurrection of Christ and the triumph of Humanity thereby. It is also the source of the word baccalaureate (laurel berry), and of poet laureate.) - wikipedia

Brook: water, small stream

Beth: house; From Lizbeth, my God is an oath or God's promises; from Bethany, fig tree.

Jessica: He sees

Pat: from Patrick or Patrice, nobleman.


Older // Latest